RSS

Hitting the Wall!

14 Jan

And right away I must rant!

Good lord, this POSTADAY business! I must have been off my head! I have another blog in which I’m posting poetry (please check it out in the links) and after TWELVE DAYS, I’m absolutely exhausted!

It started off well enough, fueled, no doubt, by the same excessive energy ALL postaday-ers have when they first sign up.

1. I write, have always wanted to write more.
2. I’m envious of others and love a good book.
3. I’m not afraid to be published and I want to be famous.
4. Surely I can manage a postaday
5. I’ll use it to spur me onto greater things.

Well, I tell ya, less than two weeks in and I’m hurting!

It goes something like this;

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1. Ooooo, this wordpress is excellent! What lovely themes! So many people in here! Right…blog title…hm…
2. There’s a lot of thingy-ma-blobs init. Customize, customize, widget in, widget out, ok, preview, nope, edit, re-edit, nope, re-size, re-frame, re-think, ok…publish.
3. Yey! My first post!
4. Oh look, they’ve got this postaday thingy. Sign up!
5. Oh fantastic, they send topics and everything! But I already know what I’m doing so I’m just going to ignore it and post what I want, I don’t want to feel cramped.
6. There’s so much on here, so many people! Read, read, read, comment, comment, comment.
7. Site Stats? What are those? Oh, I see. Gawd, only two visits.
8. There’s so much on here, so many people! Read, read, read, haha, comment, comment, comment, publish!
9. I’m so pumped! I wonder if I should just go ahead and post another one today?
10. Glad I didn’t, I’m feeling so discliplined. So third day. Been spending alot of time on here haven’t I? I’ll do the bills tomorrow.
12. There’s alot of people on here.
13. Some of them are really good.
14. Day five. Sheesh, I’m tired. Oh I know, I’ll check my stats! Oh! Look at that! Twenty five visits! They need me!
15. Day seven. They need me, I musn’t let them down. What am I going to write now. Oh dear, my head hurts.
16. Day eight. OK. STOP. THIS WON’T WORK. I CAN’T BE CREATIVE EVERYDAY! SHUT UP! ALL OF YOU! JEEZ!
17. Realisation. Why AM i doing this actually? Whoa. I was doing it for me. Don’t have to be ‘creative’ everyday, don’t have to be the best, look, *&#@.wordpress.com’s having the same problems, so’s #@$.wordpress.com
18. But I have a theme, best to stick to it. I’m freer that way.
19. Day ten. ARGH! I FEEL SO CRAMPED!
20. Day eleven. Hmm. Those topics do kinda look interesting heh?

“…What have I never told anyone else?…’

AK! Concentrate! That won’t fit into your theme!
21. Day twelve. My brain’s froze. Nope, won’t go any further. Can’t flog a dead horse. Who said poetry’s easy anyway? Each word takes like an hour! And then the word after! And then the word before! I’ll try haiku! Eeeeks! That’s harder! Each word takes a day!
22. Start a new blog.

LESSON ONE

Take your time. Breath. You’re not a writer otherwise you’d have a book and be sipping champagne off a Central Park Apartment Balcony, having a meeting with your Agent.

Why did you start this blog anyway, if you’re not having fun now?

Why aren’t you having fun? What pressure? WHO’S pressure. Not everything you put down has to be important. Hell, whoever said ANYTHING you put down is important in the first place? You did? Now why did you do that?

Oh, but you are enjoying reading all the stuff that people are writing? What? Not just poetry?

And you DO appreciate the comments?

And you WOULD like to make it through the year?

Why?

I thought you said it was because…oh I see. Now you’ve changed your mind.

Because you said you’d do it, and you don’t want to fail.

Because you can see that you’re learning already.

Don’t cry. Because you can see that you’re not a superstar?

 

 

 

 

 

Honey, you’re my superstar. Come on, pull it together, clean up, of course there’s people better than you. There’s people worse than you. There’s people just like you. And what’s ‘better & worse’ anyway? There you go. Dust yourself off, stop rolling around in the muck.

Keep your first blog, you were enjoying it. Start a second and join in with the postaday topics. You’ll get bored of them too sometime, inevitably.

What, you’re proud that you’ve made it TWO weeks?

I am too.

Now.

Let’s make it two more.

-visit my poetry blog – http://kolembo.wordpress.com/

photos – 123rf.com

 
16 Comments

Posted by on January 14, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

16 responses to “Hitting the Wall!

  1. Titirangi Storyteller

    January 14, 2011 at 11:46

    I’m laughing so hard I think I pulled something… It shouldn’t hurt this month. I think I might have to spend the day in bed tomorrow – won’t be able to sit at the computer…
    Yeah… right!

     
    • kolembo

      January 14, 2011 at 12:31

      Aye Titirangi Storyteller! I know! I swear! By the way, did you know that ‘Titirangi’ sounds extremely like a luhya (kenyan) word?! I’m going to ask around.

       
  2. Emily

    January 16, 2011 at 05:09

    I felt your pain, once. But after blogging for nearly two years and also reading around, I have realized that you don’t have to post every day unless you really have something to say. Content is key and if you’re not feeling it, then don’t post.

    I post about four times a week. I am chronically ill and sometimes even when I want to write I just don’t feel well enough to do it. You may have a different reason…busy with the kids, work or both; but whatever, my advice is to not put that pressure on yourself.

     
  3. Ginger

    January 16, 2011 at 05:20

    HA ha that’s EXACTLY how I feel too! I used to maintain two blogs. Way too much work. I’d love to have time to comment on lots of blogs. But? I have a job. I have a husband, therefore I have laundry and a bath tub that needs an occasional scrubbing. What to do, what to do?

    Anyhoo…loved your post, thanks for the laugh!

     
  4. melodydemone

    January 17, 2011 at 15:06

    I had similar thoughts about this lol

    Check it out here

    http://pissedoffbitch.com/category/pissedoff-with/postaday2011-pissedoff-with/

     
  5. melodydemone

    January 17, 2011 at 15:58

    Ok, call it ADHD, but one wasn’t enough, you inspired this one 😉

    http://how2writenow.com/2011/01/17/how-2-write-now-ignore-it-postaday2011/

     
  6. S

    January 18, 2011 at 12:39

    It does get tough!! But hey we’ve made it 18 days now! I find I just write in the morning, or at night, or my lunch break. You can post a link to a news article, you can write one word….there are no rules. Just POST once a day….looking forward to reading more of your poetry
    I also have two blogs! but I only focus on one, the other blog I maintain with only weekly posts

     
  7. S

    January 18, 2011 at 14:23

    My I link to your blog on my site?

     
  8. Ashley

    January 19, 2011 at 05:03

    It’s a funny post. 🙂 Love it.

    I too am wondering if I could do this everyday. Well, we shall see. 🙂
    The reason I blog, is because I want to have something that I could look back in the future. By looking back what I felt and did there and then, sometimes I learn. 🙂

    Let’s do this together. 😀

     
  9. lesleehare

    January 19, 2011 at 13:44

    I love this post, Kolembo! Can you tell I’m a late-comer, only on Day Two? Sleep… necessary… thank you!

     
  10. mobbitt

    February 12, 2011 at 10:13

    My one and only commenter pointed me to this post – man I feel your pain! I’m three days into post a day and already I’ve run out of things relevant to my theme(s) and expanding into recounting bits of my pedestrian existence. My poor reader! I’m pretty sure they won’t stay the distance but I’m going to try, quality content be damned! Why is writing so hard? Even when it’s all you want to do?

     
  11. Jeff Hester

    February 13, 2011 at 02:04

    Well done! You captured the process that many of us go through. It’s a challenge to stay motivated and create good stuff daily.

    One thing… sometimes I do an “easy” post, maybe sharing a personal photo with a few thoughts about it. Not every post has to be absolutely amazing, and frankly, I don’t have the time to do that every day. So I’ll settle for just slightly amazing on some days. 😉

     
  12. Sajib

    February 13, 2011 at 19:37

    Like someone already said on my newest blog, it’s fun and it should be felt like that. Once you get the fun out of blogging, you can never quit. 🙂

    Good luck with your blogging journey!

     

Talk to me!

 
