RSS

Appreciating Others

17 Jan

 

 

The Christmas period was intense for lovers of wine.

Christmas eve came on a Friday, Christmas itself on the Saturday, Boxing day, Sunday, Public Holiday, Monday, New Years Eve, Friday, New Years Day, Saturday, and then the first Sunday, well Sunday.

Count them.

Then add a day before and a day after, to bracket the whole together.

Get my point?

You know how on a good night out, you latch onto an idea, a notion that really sets everything alight, and has your friends (and even just the guy on the next bar-stool) nodding seriously – ya, ya! – effusing enthusiastically -“‘..it’s like….”

Ok, by day three, that notion/idea was recycling itself continuously (when you’re on wine, a good concept – especially your own-will stick to you like glue!) but for the first time it had enough life in it to last THE ENTIRE two week period.

The notion?

EVERYONE JUST WANTS TO BE APPRECIATED.

Easy eh. We know that. Course we do.

When was the last time you were appreciated? Really appreciated?

Yesterday, as I was reading through the postaday2011 blogs (it’s what I do when I’m sick enough of poetry to want to stab it), I ran into a blogger, on the boards at  same time who was appreciating a post on my blog.

So I appreciated one on theirs.

And they appreciated another on mine.

And I appreciated another on theirs.

So.

There we were, Feeling Appreciated.

This blogger, then blogged me with a ‘ping-back’ (WHATEVER that is),  to another blog that referred to another post in my blog.

You don’t get it. REFERRED TO MY BLOG!

Do you know, it felt like Christmas?

Hell, it felt like all the Christmases put together AND washed down with double-double chocolate and fortified cider!

 

What I’m saying is this; APPRECIATE SOMEONE THE NEXT TIME YOU CAN.

Not falsely (the Desiderata warns about fake affection for good reason) but honestly, when you come across something that someone has written, or done, or been, that has made a difference to you.

RESPOND.

My Grandma once suggested that it takes us all our lives to understand that the feeling of being useful is  infinately  superior to that of being loved.

And that, in the fullness of time, it’s doing, not loving that changes your world.

So thank you, pissedoffbitch.wordpress.com, and may God be with you always.

 

Now…today’s topic is going to have to wait!

 

-visit my poetry blog at Tomatos, Oranges and Other Fruit

photos – 123rf.com & personal

 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 17, 2011 in postaday2011

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Appreciating Others

  1. patrice berry

    January 17, 2011 at 23:22

    this is me appreciating this space – shitsugane, AND tomatoes, oranges and other fruit. truly. thank you for sharing…

     
  2. melodydemone

    January 18, 2011 at 05:01

    Awwwww, that was so amazing, I’m sure if I had the right colouring I’d be blushing, and smirking, and jumping around the house in an insane attempt to contain my happiness 😉

    I had a similar feeling about it and I wrote it here

    http://pissedoffbitch.com/2011/01/03/pissedoffbitch-crying-4-comments/

    Merry Christmas, Happy new year, wishing you all the success in life ( I am aware that it is late, however this is the first time I’ve actually wanted to say it, without wanting to puke!)

     
  3. starbear

    January 19, 2011 at 02:18

    Yup. I had thatr same Christmas present feeling when you “liked” my post and we exchanged links… funy how those little things can make us feel noticed, acknowledged, appreciated. Thank you for this post! 🙂

     
  4. RNobilityNotraEin

    February 25, 2011 at 10:13

    Love it kid, excellent article friend!;-)

    Peace,
    Rich

     

Talk to me!

 
