RSS

Three Hundred and Sixty-Five Posts. Hopefully.

18 Jan

So, ya.

On Hope.

I have this niggling suspicion that this is going to be one of those short posts…you know the ones…just get it in there. I used to lecture first year University students and I could always tell one of those…

A few thoughts…all the posts I’ve read so far seem to be concerned with Hope as a personal out-look on life.

Like…I’m always hopeful. When things are bad, and all is gloom, look forward with Hope.

Or…Hope is not something I think about. I do the things I need to do and leave it at that.

Well, I too have very little to say on Hope. I ‘hope’ things go well with you. What’s wrong with ‘how’ are things going with you?

I ‘hope’ I have a job tomorrow. What’s wrong with ‘do’ I have a job?

My bad, see? I didn’t take the time to write out the topic title, in bold, at the head of my post!

WHAT GIVES YOU HOPE? AND WHAT, IF ANYTHING, MAKES YOU QUESTION HOPE? AND WHAT MAKES YOU QUESTION YOUR QUESTIONS OF HOPE? AND…

Right. That didn’t help.

I feel like I want to write an essay on the relationship of Courage to Hope.

What is ‘Hope?’ A wish for better things? An irrational plea for something un-deserved?

I live in Hope.

What does that mean?

You understand that I’m just throwing these out as they come to me…and I’m getting that ‘Hope’, doesn’t do very much for me.

I hope for peace on earth, and a fabulous script, I hope for an end to poverty. Do I ‘hope’ for a better car? I don’t know actually. Better health?

It seems hope is something that can only be defined by those who use it in their lives, those who can understand and feel comfortable with relinquishing control.

Hope is either the most noble acknowledgement of life, SURRENDER, or, the most fickle, ABDICATION. You know. Let’s hope.

Which of the two for me?

I hope to find that there was meaning to my life in the end.

I hope we’re not the only aliens in the Universe!

Can I ‘give’ hope to someone?

Do I ‘give’ hope to the street child I spare a few shillings for? Can I ‘get’ hope? Buy it? Steal it? Can some THING, some ONE, ‘give’ me hope?

I hope I get to the end of the year and find that I have three hundred and sixty-five poems.

What is it, this thing, hope?

I hope no-one noticed.

I hear that one alot.

Why do you hope that? Because then you won’t be embarrassed?

So you hope you got away with it then. In other words, evaded a consequence that should rightfully have been borne.

What role does Grace play in Hope, you know, because it appears that a hope full-filled, is done so outside of oneself, of ones actions, and therefore happens ONLY as an act of Grace.

From whom?

I hope you love me.

That makes sense.

I hope you love me.

-visit my poetry blog – Tomatos, Oranges and Other Fruit

photos – 123rf.com & publicdomainpictures.net

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 18, 2011 in postaday2011

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Three Hundred and Sixty-Five Posts. Hopefully.

  1. Narendra

    January 18, 2011 at 11:35

    Dropped by to wish the very best on your post-a-day challenge.
    It’s easy, keep up the good work.

    I’ll be honest I don’t understand much of poetry stuff however, I am subscribing your blog to show my support for your 365 day challenge.

    All the best

     
  2. melodydemone

    January 18, 2011 at 23:22

    What a great perspective you’ve inspired, I just hope I can remember to sleep after I try and hopelessly do anything but appreciate and reciprocate 😉

     
  3. Tilly Bud

    January 19, 2011 at 14:01

    Not such a short post after all!

     

Talk to me!

 
