RSS

SOUND

24 Jan

WHAT IS YOUR FAVOURITE SOUND, AND WHAT SOUND HAVE YOU NEVER HEARD THAT YOU HOPE TO HEAR SOMEDAY?

 

 

Ok, this one IS going to be short!

I’ve read alot of lovely posts on this. Some of the ones that stick out are;

Like Winter. I get it. I didn’t experience my first Winter until I was twenty-three. It snowed and when I woke up, I was in shock. It was all white and I will never forget the muted silence, the way sound echoed off the brick walls of the old apartment quadrangle, the crunch of my boots as I walked through it.

Like Laughter. I get this too. Laughter binds people together. Laughing with my friends is what I remember most vividly. Having my family in stitches makes me feel important and loved.

My own favourite? I’m so bad at these things, these questions assume that I know myself AND I DON’T!

I guess the most important sound for me is the sound of a preacher, or a good meditation CD.

I am so undisciplined, my mind NEVER switches off, runs in swirls, branching off over here, taking off over there. It’s creative but absolutely exhausting. I have no say in the matter at all.

So to listening to a voice that can tether me, calm me, gives me a few moments of freedom from myself and allows me to experience stuff without having to consume, analyse, understand, regurgitate.

A good choir can do this too.

 

 

WHAT SOUND WOULD I LIKE TO HEAR IN THE FUTURE?

Oh, now the answers come! Although the above thing on meditation is true, it’s pompous and internal. Meditation indeed! Bah humbug!

I tell you what sound excites me most; TRANSIT STATIONS!

AIRPORTS! TRAIN STATIONS! FERRIES! BUS DEPOTS!

The sounds of hustle and bustle, and bits of conversation, truncated, autonomous, wafting around like those seeds with wings in spring, announcements over the intercom that sound like GOD, snippets of life, a mother and crying child, a father on business, the sweepers and cleaners and taxi men, stiff, starched uniforms and logos, bars and coffee and movement.

How could I have forgotten!?

These thing drive me! This is home!

I’d love to find a space-port!

 

 

-visit my Tomatos, Oranges & Other Fruit
photos – personal and Roalty Free Photos

.com

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 24, 2011 in postaday2011

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “SOUND

  1. penpusherpen

    January 24, 2011 at 20:16

    Interesting read there,… the sound I like, above all others, is to hear my Pal, my Border Collie, Bess, she had a close call with serious illness recently, and to hear her ‘wuffling’, barking and to see her panting after a run about, just makes my heart soar… with relief and love…
    another is the sound of quiet after the end of a busy day at work, no TV on, no music, just to sit and enjoy the sound of silence for a while…..(that’s if Bess is asleep!!) 😀
    xPenx

     
  2. lesser angel

    January 24, 2011 at 22:50

    I like this. Thanks for bringing me first a chuckle – then a wide smile – which won’t go away.

     
  3. educatingmariane

    January 25, 2011 at 13:54

    This is lovely! I, too, love train stations and have written about them as well. Something about the sounds and smells and anticipation. 🙂

     

Talk to me!

 
