RSS

The Perfect Sunday

25 Jan

 

 

Oh good grief! Every day’s a perfect Sunday for me!

Of course, I have this niggling suspicion that I’m a deeply unhappy person; unhappy with my life, unhappy with my family, unhappy with the world, but generally, everyday comes with it’s own stuff attached.

I think this question makes sense to people for whom, different lives are lived…work life, home life, relaxing life…like that. I…well…all these things are rolled up into one for me. Even spiritual life is no-longer a Sunday deal…I’m at the Kumaris Center tonight.

I DO remember Sunday’s as being family day. Into the station-wagon, off to church, Kentucky Fried Chicken. Understand. This was 70s Kenya. It was either that, or do-it-yourself, which my father often did.

Quarrrk.

A perfect Sunday?

I keep thinking, you know, if I had a lover…but then, what would we do? How would that make it a Perfect Sunday? Perhaps, if I were a Grandad, a healthy day, and a visit from the kids. Ya. That would do it.

A friend, I suppose.

 

 

And a wallet full of money, lots of beer and a free Monday.

 

-visit my poetry blog, Tomatos, Oranges & Other Fruit

♦photos – 123rf.com

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 25, 2011 in postaday2011

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “The Perfect Sunday

  1. penpusherpen

    January 25, 2011 at 17:21

    A perfect Sunday for me has changed from just being a break from work, therefore a lie in, and a lazy day, to a day when I feel I can look back and say, good, I didn’t waste my spare time… I was productive… No matter what the ‘product’ of this productiveness was, you understand? 🙂
    (free Monday is good too!!) xPenx

     
  2. lightdance

    January 25, 2011 at 17:52

    I didn’t like Sundays as a child: full of football or terrible (to me) music, and no one wanted to do anything. Boring!!!! Now that my husband has retired I can’t keep track of WHAT day it is. Fortunately, so far, they all seem like Saturdays. A wallet full of money would be good. See? It’s always something.

     
    • kolembo

      January 25, 2011 at 18:21

      Got me smiling!

       

Talk to me!

 
