RSS

Funny People!

26 Jan

 

 

Believe it or not, The Queen of England is hilarious!

I was involved with a Community Christian Center in London while I was in College and she came to visit. I had borrowed a camera from the BBC (entirely different story) and was going to film her doing the rounds.

The camera was huge (think eighties video) and I’d never filmed before. She  came in and I promptly went for the close up….I mean, CLOSE UP!

There was security everywhere, suddenly I’m on the floor, there are people on walkie-talkies, and she’s like (I swear, honest), “…oh get off him, can’t you see he’s African!”

She spent the rest of the day draped around my arm nattering away…and she is incredibly funny…about everything, including her mum. At the end of the afternoon, she got into the Mayors Car, all Ceremonial and then called out the window to me…”…you’ve got to learn to keep the other eye open!”

Yup. All on video-tape.

My Dad was funny too.

He was a big man, with large hands, very boisterous, and loved clapping people on the back jovially. The number of times at Embassy parties, that I have had to hand paper napkins around…only the Russians gave as good as they got.

And then of course, there’s Eddie Murphy. Eddie Murphy is funny for children. He has a way of getting right into them, right where they live in imagination.

I’ve learned that the funniest people are those who laugh first at themselves. They remind me that it’s not hard to enjoy company, that life needn’t have to be ‘relevant’, and that being happy is something you choose.

I’m at my best when I’m causing laughter and happiest when I’m laughing too, and I don’t have to be funny, to be funny.

 

 

-visit my poetry blog, Tomatos, Oranges & Other Fruit

photos – The Queen & 123rf.com

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 26, 2011 in postaday2011

 

Tags:

5 responses to “Funny People!

  1. penpusherpen

    January 26, 2011 at 14:32

    I laughed aloud, and you have a wonderful memory there, The Queen, as we in England see her, is usually worn down by bureaucratic pressures, and we rarely have an insight as you did to her comedic qualities..
    Me too, with the happiest when I’m making others smile or laugh comment…Which is why I love to do ‘silly’ poems sometimes…gives me a kick. Glad you enjoyed my latest ‘escapade’ 😉 xx

     
  2. Titirangi Storyteller

    January 26, 2011 at 15:59

    You’re the second person I’ve met in the last wee while that’s hung out with the Queen… I feel ‘touched by greatness’ !!!

     
    • kolembo

      January 26, 2011 at 16:12

      Haha! Ya, I keep that video tape in a safe at the bank! It’s odd how very, VERY, special she can make you feel. She’s truly, Great people in every sense of the word. When you think about it, she could have been a dragon!

       
  3. lightdance

    January 26, 2011 at 16:29

    What a great experience. I enjoyed your good humor, and the story about the very human side the Queen, no less! So, did you take to heart her advice about keeping both eyes open?

     
  4. lesleehare

    January 31, 2011 at 00:51

    just such fun! what a great story!

     

Talk to me!

 
