RSS

If I had my own Reality Tv show…

31 Jan

I’m watching these people fight in Afghanistan. These children.

It’s a documentary called Respeto on National Geographic. They’re only babies. Kids. So it’s not like in the movies. They sleep in their clothes, burn their shit in the morning, and spend months getting to know each other. They may as well be in love. Then they’re killed.

There’s this eighteen year old kid, bawling on my screen right now. His friend is dead beside him.

“It’s not supposed to be like this…”, I’m thinking, “..why is he crying?”

On the other side of the valley, the same thing is happening.

I feel slightly inadequate, vaguely useless. Maybe I should have joined the Army.

IF I HAD MY OWN REALITY TV SHOW…

I’d watch people sleep.

I’m fascinated by involuntary action. I’m a Sado-Masochist in imagination. It’s not the pain. It’s the removal of control. It’s your surrender or someone else’s.

It’s out of my hands.

What you do in your sleep is dictated by what you’ve been through, what you think you’ve hidden, what you really want. Do you fight with the covers? Lay comatose? On your side, on your front, or your back?

Do you talk in your sleep?

I raise my head and bumb it against my pillow, like a sea-lion making it up the beach.

Bump. Bump. Bump. Once every ten seconds for a couple of minutes every hour.

My twin uses her feet. The doctors say that’s the way we were inside my mum. Head to feet.

Ever looked at someone you love when they’re asleep?

 

-visit my poetry blog, Tomatoes, Oranges & Fruit

photos – webstockpro & 123rf.com

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 31, 2011 in postaday2011

 

Tags:

5 responses to “If I had my own Reality Tv show…

  1. Laura

    January 31, 2011 at 00:12

    Cool!…This would be a good topic in itself…’Describe how you sleep’.

     
  2. lesleehare

    January 31, 2011 at 00:52

    wow… so, which is the reality… all is, I suppose…

     
  3. penpusherpen

    January 31, 2011 at 13:58

    I’m a pretty restless sleeper, sometimes fighting with the covers and /or pillows… and I have looked at someone I love when they’re asleep… we put our trust in someone when we sleep together, surely it’s a trust that wasn’t learned in the dark and distant past? when it was kill or be killed, so the love must wipe the instinct to protect ourselves and trust becomes the key?
    Great blog, makes you ponder…and I love pondering… 😉 xx

     
    • kolembo

      January 31, 2011 at 14:19

      Great reply thanks! Perhaps I should have been clear that I REALLY do wanna know how you sleep you all!

      *powered by android*

       

Talk to me!

 
