RSS

Good job, Bad job

02 Feb

IF YOU COULD HAVE ANY JOB IN THE WORLD, WHAT WOULD IT BE?

I was eleven, I think, and had a Yugoslavian friend in Std.4 called Valter Podgornik. His father and mine worked together. He invited me over for a couple of days one summer and we wound up in Ljubliana.

Happens everyday doesn’t it!

At the airport; large men looming like monsters looming over me, holding onto my dad’s hands, (him the biggest)!, machines mopping the floor, passed the x-rays, letting go, to the boarding gate and a little pouch hung over my neck, (making me feel very important indeed), has pass-port, addresses, toothpaste, baby tylenol, nintendo, hankies with mum’s smell on them, round the corner all alone, up the stairs to this huge castle, AIR FRANCE, 747, heaven in the sky.

Excuse me…how do I open the window?

The take off!

Jee Whiz, awake all night, up and down the stairs, past drawn curtains into first class, in the toilets, smelly stuff in bottles that I can reach all by myself.

We land in Zurich and change to Lufthansa and it’s afternoon, and this man with a glorious hat and gold stripes running through it, picks me up – just like my dad – shoulder high, and into the cockpit and I can see the sky!  I’m flying!

I was robbed in Italy on the way home.

Every-time I fly, I look for the pilot.

I notice that to a Man (woman);

-they drive funny cars like SAABs or modified two-door BMWs,
-when the bulk doors close they care about every single person on board,
-they carry photos of their families in their wallets,
-they look tired like they know, however far you travel, it’s all more of the same.
-ou can tell when they’re flying the home route…the smile at the door is just a little bit wider.

I think of hijackings, and plane crashes and terrorists, I hear the ‘voice of the Captain speaking,’ and I feel for them these brave people, accountable for all the souls on board.

WHAT IS THE WORST JOB I’VE EVER HAD AND WHAT DID I LEARN FROM IT?

You know, I’ve loved every job I’ve been paid for! To be honest, I’ve never had a job I couldn’t quit from.
Therein lies the rub. How easily can YOU quit?

-visit my poetry blog, Tomatos, Oranges & Other Fruit-

photos – webstockpro.com & 123rf.com

JUST IN : CATEGORY 5 CYCLONE TO HIT AUSTRALIA, MUBARAK DOES NOT STEP DOWN IN EGYPT

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 2, 2011 in postaday2011, Uncategorized

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Good job, Bad job

  1. lesleehare

    February 2, 2011 at 01:13

    “Excuse me, how do I open the window?” Sublime! Sorry if I relish that out of context… (wink & smile)

     
  2. penpusherpen

    February 2, 2011 at 17:42

    I have quit a couple of jobs, mainly because of the work involved in respect of the pay offered…The two did not compute…So onto live-able and workable wages. I have always wanted to find a job I would enjoy, so that waking in the morning and going to work would be such an exciting experience.. Sadly nothing has left me with this feeling…as yet, so i,live in hope..
    and I have never flown in an aircraft. I’ve been aboard a Ferry, gone places in Coaches, cars, and Narrow Boats…but never flown. I bet you’ll never ever forget that wonderful memory…xx

     

Talk to me!

 
