RSS

What is my favourite word, and why?

11 Feb

 

 

Pneumonoultramicroscopicsilicovolcanoconiosis replaced Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious as the worlds longest word in English, although both were apparently coined for that specific purpose.

The longest scientific word is a PROTEIN beginning with Methonyil….and ending with isoleucine, with 189,891 letters in between.

Antidisestablishmentarianism.

This is the longest, non-coined, non-technical English word.

It is 19th century political movement that opposed the disestablishment of the Church of England as the state church of England.

At 29 word, Floccinaucinihilipilification is the longest coined English word and refers to ‘…the act of estimating something as being worth so little as to be practically valueless, OR the habit of doing so…’

Hippopotomonstrosesquipedaliophobia is the fear of long words.

My favorite word is PLEASE.

It honours the person it is used to address as being an, autonomous,  independent human being fully capable of refusing what is being requested but appeals to them to recognise the person who is making the request as equally capable of starting a war.

PLEASE is the commonest phrase occurring, before a miracle.

FART is another one I like very much.

 

 

-visit my poetry blog –Tomatos, Oranges & Other Fruit

photos –  farts.typepad.com

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 11, 2011 in postaday2011

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “What is my favourite word, and why?

  1. amb1rd

    February 11, 2011 at 00:10

    My favorite word is COOKIES… followed by a question mark.

    The answer is ALWAYS yes.

     
    • kolembo

      February 11, 2011 at 00:24

      …aye…that works for me!

       
  2. penpusherpen

    February 11, 2011 at 18:21

    Hmm, my favourite word? amongst soooo many in the world, I have to chose just one? an Impossibility, 🙂
    OOoooOO ..one I came across recently was ‘eclectic ‘ ..IT seems to click on the tongue, forms small bubbles of breath, and finally you could dance to it’s almost castanet-like sound as you release the word in one swift bound… ‘eclectic’ .. amazing word…xPenx
    (‘fart’ always makes me laugh… I have a toilet sense of humour…not that I laugh a lot in the toilet it’s just that that level of humour sets me off and I can’t stop giggling!!)

     
  3. Titirangi Storyteller

    February 12, 2011 at 15:15

    Dazzle. No contest!

     

Talk to me!

 
