RSS

What’s one thing I’ve learned?

15 Feb

 

 

I’d like to think I’ve learned more than one thing in my life!

First of all, I’m beginning to like MMA…can you believe that? You know, it’s this thing where guys get into a ring with eight fenced sides they call the cage and fight.

I don’t know what that’s about, I’ve never been able to watch Boxing, never mind this free for all. To be honest, I don’t think I’m watching the fighting…

Yes, I’ve been distracted the whole week…none of my thoughts going in any particular direction.

I’ve learned that the quality of our thoughts affects the quality of our lives, that when I was younger, I had a wide variety of optimistic thoughts to chose from, that I have to work a little harder now, for faith, belief, stuff like that.

I’m meditating this year with the Brahma Kumaris. I used to do this kind of thing easy. Last Sunday, I went to my fourth lesson and noticed a number of things.

First of all, they all wear white. They sit in a darkened room in front of an image of ‘Babu’ who is drawn sitting underneath a single point of light radiating long orange rays . After a while he floats.

They talk about heaven being this world of silence.

Their quest is for Peace. It runs everything.

Like I said, I used to do this stuff easy…now I’m not so sure. It seems that every religion/Life System wants to be THE ONE…but they all are looking for the same thing. They are all more similar than makes them comfortable.

They constantly propound that one thing that they believe makes them different. The Brahma Kumaris have a world tree that contains ALL religions. So that’s their one thing…they’re above the fray.

Sigh.

The one thing I AM getting though, is about the WAY you think. If you can manage to believe the best of life, to believe that you can overcome, then invariably life comes around.

Unfortunately I think this is all I can come up with; the Dentist looms and I’m into blog fatigue. I’ve been thinking about joining the Army.

It will all make sense tomorrow.


-visit my poetry blog – Tomatos, Oranges & Other Fruit

photos – 123rf.com

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 15, 2011 in postaday2011

 

Tags:

5 responses to “What’s one thing I’ve learned?

  1. lesser angel

    February 17, 2011 at 23:21

    Kolembo said: “If you can manage to believe the best of life, to believe that you can overcome, then invariably life comes around.”

    Would that it were so. Magic – that would be!

    There’d be no more wars, no more famines, no more atrocities, no more murders, no more natural disasters. No more people dying before their time, being maimed or suffering from life-long afflictions as a result.

    I just can’t tell a mother – bone-thin herself from famine – that her baby died because it did not believe that it could overcome, that it did not believe the best of life – nor yet that her baby died because she did not.

    What they believed or didn’t believe had nothing whatsoever to do with the outcome. Just as with Pol Pot’s victims. Life didn’t come around for them either. And, for me, one instance to the contrary disproves the theory.

     
  2. kolembo

    February 18, 2011 at 06:17

    Yes but, perhaps this bone thin mother, or tortured Pol Pot person, having found themselves there, find that all they have left is what they think and believe; we’re not certainly, there.

     
    • lesser angel

      February 18, 2011 at 16:21

      The baby is dead. The Pol Pot victims are dead. They neither of them have anything left – no life, no thoughts, no beliefs. Life did not come around for them – whatever they may have happened to believe.

      Granted, the bone-thin mother – although herself starving – is not yet dead. Her beliefs and thoughts may be all she has left but, her believing the best of life and/or her believing that she can overcome, is not going to save her from dying of starvation. That will depend upon the duration and severity of the famine.

       
  3. kolembo

    February 18, 2011 at 16:36

    Granted those who are dead, are dead. To a man/woman, those who are alive talk about something they have found. As for being saved, yes, really we are responsible for not saving them, and now that we have not, what are they to do? You sound angry. Yes, I’m angry too. Then, is the question, THEN what?

     
    • lesser angel

      February 19, 2011 at 04:35

      I was not – and am not – angry, Kolembo. I’m sorry if I sounded that way.

      I was simply trying to be concise in order to clarify what I was trying to convey.

      It appears that I have been unsuccessful in accomplishing that.

      That’s okay.

      The examples I chose apparently confused the point I was trying to make – but they have started off a new direction of discussion.

       

Talk to me!

 
