RSS

I don’t want to write!

21 Feb

 

 

GOT…TO…SNAP…OUT…OF…IT!

I have been staring at blank bits of paper all weekend. I have huffed and puffed and covered them in doodles and rhythms going nowhere and spat rabid rants hoping that something will stick.

Nothing.

Sometimes, when I just start writing, I manage to squeeze something out, so I’m trying that here again. There has been no plotting, no careful draft. Last time I tried this I got a poem. I was very surprised.

But today I feel flat. I have ideas, half-baked floating around, but this time, I just don’t want to write.

What is writing doing anyway? How is writing contributing to a greener world, how is it sustaining me? I am languishing in that ‘it’s all bollocks!’ space. Wallowing in it.

Even this isn’t going anywhere, my souls just not there, I’m not feeling ‘it’, you know, that excitement of keyboard-under-finger or palm-against-paper.

There is no rush. The T.V. is on and not making sense, the sun is already high in the sky, I’ve cancelled all thoughts of work for the day, dreading the week ahead, I glanced at my schedule, screamed (honestly), slammed it shut and chucked it across the room.

Along with all the regular stuff is all the other inane stuff of life; service the car, pay the bills, do two months of laundry, get myself a haircut (my Afro’s become a fire hazard! ), wash the dogs – all eleven of them – shop for food (can’t live on toast), scrub the bath and toilet – not speaking to the living room yet, it’s getting the silent treatment for talking back.

Perhaps I’ll go for a run.

Maybe I’ll look through some prompts.

Likely I’ll send for a pizza, lie out on the verandah, soak in the sun, and wait for tomorrow.

 

-visit my poetry blog – Tomatos, Oranges and Other Fruit

picture – webstockpro.com

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 21, 2011 in postaday2011, Uncategorized

 

Tags:

2 responses to “I don’t want to write!

  1. Tilly Bud

    February 21, 2011 at 12:15

    It gets us all like that sometimes.

     
  2. penpusherpen

    February 21, 2011 at 13:35

    Your mind is letting your know it doesn’t want to write at this precise moment, it wants space to think…I find myself staring, just like you, then at the most inopportune moment the thoughts start to fly and I can’t keep up. Which is why I invested in a small VR (Voice recorder) which I carry about me and my thoughts are never lost, just kept safe to be sorted through later…I panic too, I panic with the stray thought that I have nothing to say, that I will never think of a theme or a storyline.., never fear… the brain is a wonderful thing, it knows when to let fly and keep your imagination active…Wait and you will be rewarded for your patience.,.You’ve already blogged about your ‘silence’ Just as I once did a Poem about ‘blank mind’ syndrome!! 😉 … there’s always a way to talk about simply nothing at all my friend…xx

     

Talk to me!

 
