RSS

When do you know that your post is ready to publish?

23 Feb

Hm.

I never think my posts are ready to publish. They are quite sure of it all on their own.

Usually I begin the post, let it run for as long as my thoughts are heading in one direction, stop when they begin to wander, click ‘draft’, put in the tags, re-read it once, click the spell-check, add some photos and then…wait.

I wait for the time to tick over so that my calendar entry is correct.

I wait so that the words have time to speak.

I wait so that I can get on with my day.

I change it.

I scribble out another and then wait.

Then I go to drafts, and I restore the first one.

Then I wait.

With poetry, I repeat all the steps with either a comma, or a change of word.

Then I wait.

I go to the boards and read, go to my emails and comment, come back to my post and wait.

It’s very Zen.

Then I hit Publish.

Ha. You ought to take a look at THIS broad! The Laughing Housewife.

-visit my poetry blog – Tomatos, Oranges and Other Fruit

photo – webstockpro.com

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 23, 2011 in postaday2011, Uncategorized

 

Tags:

3 responses to “When do you know that your post is ready to publish?

  1. Laura

    February 23, 2011 at 23:25

    Most of the time I just write until I’ve said what I want to, changing/editing as I go, quickly proof read, then hit Publish…Then spot all the grammatical errors and typos a few days later when I happen to be skimming over old posts!…No drafts, no planning…no Zen!

     
  2. amb1rd

    February 24, 2011 at 00:47

    I can’t tell you how many drafts I have sitting around, waiting.
    I tend to want to get the post out in a hurry, and then, I’ll go back and correct everything or add stuff I seemed to have forgotten when I was in a rush.

     
  3. humanitarikim

    February 24, 2011 at 01:54

    I dwell and scrutinize every punctuation and wording. My posts take way too much of my time. Perhaps if I wasn’t so OCD about them, I would have more total posts? I wish I could learn to let go of that a little…

     

Talk to me!

 
