RSS

What do I want to be eating right now?

24 Feb

 

 

A McDonalds. You guy’s don’t know how good you have it.

I’ve been traveling since I was eleven. Our first trip was to London to see my Mum who was phd-ing at the time. There was me and my three sisters…total age of the group was less than forty.

We were VERY independent. At immigration, the officer had to peer over the counter, four little ones, very prim and proper, all papers in order, my name is Shitsugane…yes…yes, that’s…’S’…’H’…’I’…’T’…

Reminds me of getting to JFK and telling them that my living is in drugs. Pharmacologists don’t really say ‘pharamceuticals’…too bombastic.

Anyway, we took the tube into Oxford St. got a hold of my mum and she took as out for dinner. Big Mac and fries.

We’d never seen burgers, I kid you not, and the fries looked like pencils. But we got little packs of ketchup and plastic figures and that kept us busy. That first bite was a revelation. What the hell is pickled cucumber?! Melted cheese?!

We were swimming in the stuff…mind you the burgers themselves were bigger than our heads. No help please, we were lost in chunky meat and sesame seeds and soft buns and the fries stuck in our Afros.

Kshrk. Four African Cactus Children raising mayhem downstairs…we need back-up…we need back-up. Kshrk.

We don’t have McDonalds here. We don’t like sugar in our meat and we have meat in plenty. Really. There’s more meat here than we know what to do with.  Those cute little goats you see leaping around in merriment? Lunch.

The first thing I do when I travel is locate a McDonalds. Even in Malaysia (and their food is fantastic), the first meal was a McDonalds.

They taste the same around the world. They must manufacture them in one big factory on the moon.

I’ve seen Moore’s documentary on food in America and I do feel sorry for you lot. It’s a great shock  traveling to either the UK or America (these are the hardest hit I feel), we’re led to believe that everyon’s  Timberlake or Shakira. It must be soul destroying to be told how distinctly unlike you are to the people in the magazines. Everyday. God.

So that’s what it would be. A nice, big, simple McDonalds.

 

♦photo – warhol burger at EVERYTHING BURGER on WORDPRESS; glorious site on Art & Burgers, visit!♦

-my poetry blog – Tomatos, Oranges and Other Fruit

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 24, 2011 in postaday2011

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “What do I want to be eating right now?

  1. Tilly Bud

    February 24, 2011 at 14:01

    It must be something to do with the joy of your first experience because McDonalds should be prosecuted under the Trades Description Act for purporting to sell ‘Food’. Give me a good old South African Steer burger any day. That’s what you call a hamburger.

     
    • kolembo

      February 24, 2011 at 15:35

      Haha! Ya, steers at least tastes flame-grilled. They tried it here but like I said, we have too much meat available to make it profitable to sell Steers so they left.

      McDonalds…I think perhaps you’re right because it doesn’t even taste like meat does it? Still, there we have it…it’s A Big Mac!

       
      • RNobilityNotraEin

        February 25, 2011 at 10:12

        Hey Mr. McDonald’s,

        What up Kolembo; hey what’s your first name bud and thanks for being a champ bro, I owe you… I’ll (I’ve been) link your site to my site, hope it amps up your game, the awesome author you are man/mean my close friend!

        Also my favorite in your “peace” if you will (piece I know, but like peace better, whatchya think)? Here it is: “The first thing I do when I travel is locate a McDonalds. Even in Malaysia (and their food is fantastic), the first meal was a McDonalds.

        They taste the same around the world. They must manufacture them in one big factory on the moon.”

        Quoted you too (lol man, but deserved always of authors rights I mean ours ay?)

        Much Peace K,
        Rnoble74

         
    • RNobilityNotraEin

      February 25, 2011 at 10:05

      Agreed, not a healthy choice my sweet friend! However I’ve got a weakness for burgers, but do stay as fit as possible too and eat well too; I think your right about an African burger being top notch anywhere! Wanted to say hello too, wish you well, Tilly… I’ll be subscribing to your blog, look forward to it, reading I mean.

      Blessings and Bliss Gal,
      Rich;-)))

       
      • Tilly Bud

        February 25, 2011 at 13:57

        Thanks, R. 🙂 Nice to meet you.

         
  2. lightdance

    February 24, 2011 at 16:34

    I hate to admit that I’m addicted to Oreo McFlurrys. The rest of the stuff is yuck, but I always get a plain hamburger so that my meal is complete.

     

Talk to me!

 
