RSS

What gets better with age? What got worse?

25 Feb

 

 

I direct you firmly, and post-haste, to ‘I’m 26, honest!’

So, are we clear? Well then…

…I find that;

1. I can’t run everyday. Hell, I can’t run every week. Hell, I can’t run.
2. It takes half an hour to wake up.
3. It takes days to get over a hang over.
4. I don’t like hanging around. I can’t distract myself so easily anymore.
5. I like my fluffy bunny slippers.
6. I cramp while ‘romping” in bed. It has to be plain reverse missionary, no frills.
7. I enjoy ‘Keeping up Appearances’ on BBC.
8. I hog dance-floors.
9. They call St. Johns more often.
10.  I watch the news.

All of the above strike me not so much as rolling down the hill as, absolutely plummeting.

Crumbs, whowzer, jimney-cricket (ya…I know…), groovy, bad and heavy, are terms I grew up with.

So. What get’s better with age? People ask me if I’m feeling O.K.

What gets worse? They ask all the time.

 

-visit my poetry blog – Tomatos, Oranges and Other Fruit

picture – 123rf.com

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 25, 2011 in postaday2011

 

Tags:

5 responses to “What gets better with age? What got worse?

  1. humanitarikim

    February 25, 2011 at 17:29

    The good news is this is a phenomenon we all battle. What good is misery if it’s not shared?

     
  2. lesser angel

    February 25, 2011 at 19:44

    Strewth!!! And you’re only 26!!! Whatever will you be like when you’re forty!

     
  3. kolembo

    February 26, 2011 at 02:49

    you do mean when WE get to forty? THAT…WILL…NEVER…HAPPEN…!

     
  4. Hanna Wilbur

    February 26, 2011 at 20:52

    I’ll be twenty one in March
    1. I feel much better and better about my self the more I grow “bigger” (I don’t want to say the word ‘older’–oops)
    2. Am happily married with an awesome husband (good father figure of the family, charming, and loves me so much) and a wise young son
    3. I’ll be graduating from college next year
    4. I’m so cute (narcissistic mode: on)
    5. I still love my backpack and dolls (since I don’t have a daughter yet to pass that on to)
    6. Wish I have better eye sight. No eyeglasses or contact lenses on!
    7. I watch the news not as often as when I was in high school
    8. I realize that my step mother is such a great mom
    9. My ability to sense energy has gone down (does age have anything to do with that?)
    10. I don’t see jinn anymore (horray!)

     
    • kolembo

      February 26, 2011 at 23:03

      You sound fun!

       

Talk to me!

 
