RSS

What’s the longest I’ve gone without sleep?

03 Mar

image

Ok, who said I sleep?

I am paranoid that if I sleep, something important will happen that I miss.

Aliens will land. The Oscar’s will call. I’ll have won a new car and missed the media announcement.

Actually I go through periods of sleeping far too much, and not sleeping at all. These periods last months. If I have a film going, I will sleep perhaps two or three hours everyday for the couple of months of filming.

Then I’ll take a break and sleep at least twelve hours a day.

For the last twenty years, I have owned my one time essentially so I sleep, eat, drink, write, work at my discretion.

On one hand it’s very liberating. I own my world. I choose what I do, when I do it and it’s something I’m very proud of.

On the other hand, everything is up to me, and I mean everything. I am responsible for accounting for the lumps of cash that come my way…irregularly I might add. I need an account where everything goes in, another account to which I pay myself, and another from which I pay bills.

Not as easy as it sounds. It’s very difficult to be disciplined ALL the time.

Also, when things go wrong, financially or otherwise, there’s really no one to fault but myself.

Sometimes it gets a little much. It conflicts with a sense of God, it loads every moment of life with significance, it can burn you out to be making decisions, momentous EVERTIME, because it’s impact is so immediate.

So I can’t really identify a specific time that I’ve been awake for a long time continously.

Right now, I’m in my awake phase. I’m due a miracle and don’t wanna sleep through it.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 3, 2011 in postaday2011

 

Tags:

One response to “What’s the longest I’ve gone without sleep?

  1. lesser angel

    March 8, 2011 at 07:50

    Love the photo.

    Let me be flippant. Sounds like it would be a miracle if you were to get enough sleep!

     

Talk to me!

 
