RSS

A book that changed my life

11 Mar

 

 

Ok. Experiencing one of those days.  Is it important to you, what people think? To what extent?

I think I do care what people think…I’m just not sure how much. Does it affect what I do and say? How i feel?

Gracious.

Anyway, I’m tired and need sleep so – I’ve read the Bible, cover to cover, The Quran, The Bhagavad Gita. I would argue that my life was changed BEFORE I attempted these heroic feats, otherwise how else did I make it through some of the most boring texts in my life.

That these books are infinitely fascinating is a fallacy. In all, there are Epic tales of battle and loss, of the beginning of all, and the end of all. But my goodness, there are vast tracts that will entomb you in concrete boredom. Solid.

Have you done the bible ‘begats’?  Impenetrable. Ever wonder why the Quran is based on interpretation? Some of those Sura’s read like….let’s just say that if you spoke that way to anyone….I’m trying to be magnanimous here…what is obtuse? What is extremely obtuse? What is sooooo obtuse as to never, EVER be decipherable…in shallah?

Wah, let God’s will be God’s will.

Many books I’ve read though, have had an effect on me. ‘Illusions’ by Richard Bach was the first one I remember ‘changing my life’. I changed a lot of sixth formers lives.

In my first year of college, I spent Christmas with a family called the Coles. Warm, family of three, christmas pudding, fusty hearth, gusty, gregarious love.

The father, a short, stocky, infinitely handsome man, gentle husband, long-suffering head-of-house, the mother, silver streaked fountain of maternal love – she…will…fix…everything…

Long before I even knew, gave me a book – My Name is Asher Lev by Chaim Potok

Shiva 3000A.D by Jans Lars Jensen is the most imaginative romp through Hinduism I’ve ever come across.

I used to read prodigiously…now not so much. My brain doesn’t retain matter.

Is the internet a good or a bad thing?

 

-visit my poetry blog – Tomatos, Oranges and Other Fruit

photo –  SHIVA 3000 – Jan Lars Jensen

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 11, 2011 in postaday2011

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “A book that changed my life

  1. Hanna

    March 12, 2011 at 05:42

    Hey, how many posts did you write so far? I just did my 100th post 3 days ago :).

     
  2. Hanna

    March 12, 2011 at 11:22

    I’ve tried to look for this book Shiva 3000 but can’t find it in my country :(. Amazon doesn’t send it where I live. Maybe a free copy from you can help 😉 hahaha…
    kidding
    Unless you do want to send me a copy 😛 I shall accept hahahaha

     
    • Hanna

      March 12, 2011 at 11:23

      for free of course…
      ;P

       

Talk to me!

 
