RSS

Lazy Post

14 Mar

Am I the only one who’s not getting Daily Post today?

It’s ten in the evening, its a lazy night, I have two children rolling around squealing on my floor, two adults snoozing in front of the telly, and I’m lording over the scene from a perch with my phone.

This post is just for me, just to say that I’ve posted. If I am reading this ten years from now, I hope nothing terrible has happened.

Remember your sisters, remember this moment, tsunami in Japan.

I had a strange weekend…we all did. I entirely forgot that my dad died five years ago yesterday.

The house was full in that – too much noise kinda way, car engines revving in the driveway, people trying to squeeze themselves in, the disregard for space to leave clearly indicating a family do…no one’s going anywhere very soon.

Plates of food, hordes of children pressing through the legs of adults cluthcthing long stemmed wine glasses and purses, shoes jack-knifed in corners, conversation clambering over conversation, eruptions of laughter scattered around, one taking their cue to raise, it seems, as another subsides, llike The Wave at a stadium….

Very hazy, in hind-sight, it was clear, but I missed the meal prayer dropping Auntie Sarah at Lilian Towers, so only at three in the morning, exhausted in bed, did it occur to me that, yes, it had been Dad’s anniversary.

I asked him for a poem but didn’t get one.

Any time I don’t get a poem, I’m despondant’

So I’m surveying the scene around me, mildly un-comfortable, but tonight I don’t mind just watching and listening.

I’m alright with just being here.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 14, 2011 in postaday2011, Uncategorized

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Lazy Post

  1. Jackie Paulson 1966

    March 14, 2011 at 23:19

    I love that photo. It’s okay to be in the here and now and not wrapped up in all of the media hype.

     
  2. lesser angel

    March 15, 2011 at 04:46

    Kolembo – – – hey – – –

    sounds like an EXCELLENT day.

    Your father looking over you all – and, no doubt, enjoying his family, too.

    And a day in which a poem incubates – to emerge – triumphant – in future time and space.

     
  3. pamela

    March 16, 2011 at 03:17

    Kolembo, beautiful photo. It is good to be in the here and now.

     
  4. The Hook

    March 30, 2011 at 20:20

    I’m too lazy to write a decent comment.

     

Talk to me!

 
