RSS

Yeah! Right! – paula

09 Mar

If you are wondering why that is the title of this entry, then you won’t when I show you the challenge for today – Day 14 of our spiritual journey.  Ready?

The Challenge of Trying to Converse Lovingly one Whole Day!

One whole day, really?  I don’t know.  I have tripped over a whole lot of rocks in this road, and I have found myself more than once trying to pull myself out of some rather deep potholes!  All day!  Well, I agreed to give it a try, and actually when I started, it wasn’t too hard.  Because if you interpret that as being “nice” every minute, and plastering a smile on your face, then that really isn’t all that hard.  Just act.  Give an Academy Award performance!

But, I started to think that maybe that’s not what it really means, to converse lovingly one whole day.  Perhaps it means we are to speak to one another in love.  Speak the truth.  A tall order, because it requires people like me to think before they speak.  And for one who has a hair-trigger tongue, that is an extremely difficult task.  I have to think?  Sheeesh!

So, that is my job these 24 hours.  And one more thing, Since I converse with myself as much as with anybody else, it means that I have to speak the truth in love to myself!  Whew!  I’m used to head slapping and noodle lashing from myself – at the very best.  I am going to have to spend some time each day, especially if I want to continue each of the challenges and integrate them into who I am, in making a fairer reassessment of myself, as a daughter of God.

But really, Lord!  All day?  Are you sure?  OK.  I will do my best.  So be it!  I’ll need your help every step of the way.  We’ll talk about it in depth tonight at the campfire.

To my co-sojourners, I look forward to seeing you tonight. I’m bringing some wine.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “Yeah! Right! – paula

  1. kolembo

    March 9, 2012 at 00:34

    haha, noodle – lashing!

    yes, today was much loving…every minute, WITHOUT acting!

    Let me know how it went!

     
    • Paula Tohline Calhoun

      March 9, 2012 at 04:28

      Since I was basically only around myself today, it has gone quite well. As long as I don’t spend too much time talking to myself, I am managing to be engaged in loving conversation. Our dog Princess has been the recipient of my loving conversation, but our cat unfortunately has no. I haven’t been mean, I just didn’t want him sitting on my head, and I told him so! I did tell him “don’t go away mad!” But I had to add: “Just go away!” So I killed that little exercise, but I did apologize when I saw him next.

      Anyway, a long day, some self-talk was good, some not, but I made a bit of progress I think. Which wine do you want, red or white? Stay warm – have a good night. See you in the morning before we set off on our way. . .

       
      • kolembo

        March 9, 2012 at 11:15

        I’ll do some white – lovely.

        Held on an nodded off last night…

        I didn’t really expose myself to people yesterday either so the loving conversation all day was easy – baring my self-speak.

        It was good exercise though, being ever reading to Love. Not as simple as being nice like you said.

        I have a weekend in silence coming up from tomorrow…sending you warmth and my thoughts.

        See you tonight.

         
  2. danniehill

    March 9, 2012 at 12:08

    You can do it, Paula. I have one of those tongues too.

     

Talk to me!

 
