RSS

Day Twenty Two; Appreciating Beauty!!

16 Mar

 

 

Oh thank God!

I was sinking in forgiveness and self flaggelation!

Beauty – the splendour of being.

I am awed by charismatic people.

It’s their level of self-awareness, the sheer beauty of their rightness in life.

It’s like they are fully aware that they deserve to be alive, that they are beautiful just as they are and they can and will be here on earth like this.

I’ve always wanted to be charismatic.

I am aware of who attractive I am when I’m in one of those rare moments that everything is right with me.

I’m sure that everyone else has been aware of these moments in their lives when they can see themselves, not with pride, as being the pivot of the moment, the article that makes everything and everyone else alright.

I can’t imagine being like this all the time.

On the other hand, I think that was Michael Jackson’s life.

Many things are beautiful. I find cars beautiful

A good car can make my day.

Well designed.

A good interior can do the same, where I can see the workmanship and precision in the fittings and design.

Actually it’s good design anywhere that really floats my boat.

And Architecture, and sculpture, and painting.

And a good poem can make me weep.

And a photograph can stop time.

I never really look at people though.

I can tell who’s beautiful in that what-society-says-at-the-moment kind of way….but I really don’t apprectiate that. It’s neither here nor there for me.

I do like people to put themselves together though….can’t stand slopiness…dirty nails…

So I spent today just looking at things around me and trying to find the beauty in them.

I live in a beautiful city – hadn’t noticed.

I just notice the trash and poverty and the lack.

Tonight I’m out with Jesus alone – I’ve stolen him from the pack….actually he asked me to go for a walk, and I’m feeling chuffed.

You know, when I was younger I had this theory – that if you were sexually attracted to someone on first meeting, that there was a reason we were meeting (outside of the sex)!

I’ve thought about whether Jesus is sexy.

Is he? Is that allowed?

 

“Rejoice in the Lord always, again I say rejoice.”  (Philippians 4:4)

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Day Twenty Two; Appreciating Beauty!!

  1. Paula Tohline Calhoun

    March 17, 2012 at 02:06

    Well, if you had to walk without me yesterday (I thought I had come along!), I am glad you spent all day with our Master!

    I am glad the forgiveness section is over, too, but in a way, I don’t think it is ever going to end. Maybe because it shouldn’t, but forgiveness is only one factor in our journey, so we must start concentrating on something else, all the while keeping loving and forgiving going on the back burner. A lot of work!

    i owe you some answers on the relationship of Lent and Easter, but alaw! I have not had the time today to think it out in clear enough form. I will do it, though, I promise, and it is certainly a topic that will not grow stale with time! 😆

    I do appreciate beauty. I think that is what drew me to photography. I want to find a way to capture it and hold on to it in some way, but I have found that is really not possible. No one thing can capture the depth and breadth of the beauty of God’s creation. At least the photos can remind me that it is there – especially on those days when all I see is the dirt and none of the grass.

    Actually, maybe it has more to do with what we look at than at what we see. Because if beauty is always there and always around us, is the fact that we see ugliness because we have been looking only at it, or worse yet, only for it?

    Abraham Lincoln said “If you look for the good in someone, you will surely find it.” The reverse is also true. And the same goes for beauty, I think. Maybe instead of looking for beautiful things around us we should be looking for the beauty in everything – and finding it?

    Just a thought!

    Hope you two will let me join you at the campfire tonight. I could use a smile and a hug from each of you!

     
    • kolembo

      March 17, 2012 at 09:10

      Dirt and none of the grass!

      Made me smile.

      We weren’t away long…but everyone is moving a little slower…

      I think he says it’s almost time to return.

      The beauty in things vs the beauty of them.

      Interesting. I’m looking forward to getting a glimpse of the USE of beauty.

      In my head, beauty is wonderful – but has no particular point.

      So, onward!

       
  2. Titirangi Storyteller

    March 17, 2012 at 21:58

    So many questions… I am also glad forgiveness is over… at least the forgiveness section. Hard to go through all that again as I did my forgiveness cycle about 15 years ago… it was hard. I got through it. I don’t want to revisit it. Perhaps that means I should – I don’t know. But I don’t want to… I just keep a running tab on the baggage cart – if it starts getting busy in there, time to do a clean out.

    Beauty on the other hand, far more intriguing.

    As for Jesus being sexy… not in our culture… no matter how we deny it, we still associate sexy with sinful and lustful and sensuous and wild. We use Jesus to tame those things…

     
    • kolembo

      March 17, 2012 at 23:13

      Hahaha!

      Yes we do…even the thought is crazy!

      I felt a distinct smile from him though, I think we’ll find much is not as we think it to be.

      It’s easier anyway to just leave that question hanging!

      What was that cycle 15 years ago?

      Ok, on into beautiful, and into holy week me thinks?

      See you tomorrow.

       
  3. Titirangi Storyteller

    March 19, 2012 at 11:29

    My forgiveness cycle – (or phases or phases, whatever suits) began with my recognising that I would ‘forgive’ my mother if she would only recognise and apologise for the things she had got so very wrong. Of course she didn’t and wouldn’t and wouldn’t even discuss. So I wouldn’t forgive. I couldn’t forgive. But I wanted to forgive. But how could I forgive?

    I brought this up to someone that I thought was wise (but who later proved to be no more wise than any other punter on the block)… and she said the thing that I needed to hear, or rather, asked the question I needed to be asked, which was – if you want to forgive her, why not just forgive her? Why put a condition on it?

    Wow! And I discovered the art, the joy, the sheer pleasure of forgiveness. I forgave and forgave and forgave. And asked for forgiveness too (sometimes just in case.)

    It was like cleaning all the junk out of my house, crap I didn’t need, want or remember where I got it. Stuff that didn’t fit. Nope, didn’t need any of it… Washed down the walls, felt so much sadness flowing away, rivers of sadness down the drain… I love this place so much more now. I only wish I had grasped it all so much sooner.

     

Talk to me!

 
