RSS

Day Twenty Three; Beautiful Strangers

17 Mar

 

Who are strangers?

I am surrounded by people that i do not know.

I’ve been spending alot of time alone this year – so I feel unqualified for alot of these ‘other people’ meditations.

Today I used the television to look at beautiful strangers.

What I noticed is that not many people are ‘beautiful’ in that magazine way.

In fact, I noticed that very few people look like the people we use to represent us

So what is beautiful?

I hear all the cliches – everyone is beautiful – it comes from inside – life itself beautiful.

I agree with these things – yet what makes people beautiful for me?

What makes me look twice and think about HOW that person looks? And is it important?

I don’t know.

I like hairy, toned men – not too muscular.

They are almost always white. I have increasing questions about this. .

I think I’m ok with it…the thing is, I’m not really interested in how people look.

Honestly.

I am less sure when there is concrete difference involved – blindness, scars etc but this lasts only for the time it takes to know each other.

I’m not sure how to address overt situations like this – I used to be direct, but as I grow older, I recognise that they are human, and like everyone else, they are sometimes consious about how they come across.

I’ll continue to look at people this week – it’s been interesting – eyes, ears, noses, skin, hair, legs, arms….gosh, it’s all so intricate and marvellous.

Tonight spirits are high, voices are loud, there’s singing and dancing and I recognise that there are a lot of different types of people here.

I am giddy.

I feel ok to be myself, to be human.

 

“The alien who resides with you shall be to you as a citizen among you; you shall love the alien as yourself, for you were aliens in the land of Egypt: I am the Lord your God.” (Leviticus 19:34)

♦photo – cookiesound.com♦

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Day Twenty Three; Beautiful Strangers

  1. Paula Tohline Calhoun

    March 18, 2012 at 21:29

    Beauty in strangers. Is that different than the beauty in people you know? And what happens when you come to know someone, or read about someone – getting another’s opinion of them without being able to make your own first hand observation – and then see them? is your perception of their beauty forever changed or clouded by the descriptions of others?

    I spent a great deal of my adolescence hating my looks, and I bear scars from that to this day. I do not believe that I will ever see myself as beautiful – at least in a physical way. Perhaps sometimes I have been able to truly “feel” beautiful by virtue of my experiences and interaction with others, but that is in reference to an inner beauty. Because I have always been tall, I have therefore in many of my peers’ eyes, been big, or fat. I had the misfortune of being a teenager when the model “Twiggy” set the standard for what was acceptable as far as body shape and size go. As I look back on photos of myself back then, I was really not especially fat. I may have been somewhat overweight, but certainly not obese by any means. However, I was ostracized and ridiculed constantly, and had few friends during those years, because people failed to look beyond my appearance and get to know me. It was a life-altering time of my life, and I have allowed that time to color all my self-perceptions. It is something I struggle with daily. Jesus does understand how I feel, but is impatient with my stubbornness in holding on to the past, and my insistence, it seems, on letting other people make my judgments for me.

    However, as a result of those experiences as a young person, it has made me far more sensitive to the feelings of others who by media standards are not considered beautiful. I tend to look straight into the eyes of strangers and make an attempt to see them through that mirror. Sometimes I am successful, and could only describe that person to you in terms of their personality. Others – especially those to whom their looks are very important – I can only describe by the way they appear to me on the surface.

    So where am I on this phase of the challenge? i don’t know. I will be spending a great deal of time over the next few days pondering my self-perceptions. i wonder if how I feel about myself makes everyone else more beautiful in my eyes? Would that make my self-hatred virtuous> i don’t think so, but i wonder if I will ever be able to do both – to see myself and others as beautiful – warts and all!

    TTYL!

     
    • kolembo

      March 18, 2012 at 21:45

      Hahaha! Ahhh….so you see yourself as the toad!

      I’m sure you were and and are a beautiful lady – but yeah, teenage can be hard.

      I was the opposite.

      I had money, I was good-looking (or felt it….I certainly don’t now!) I was popular.

      While that works in high-school, it sets up a sense of entitlement.

      I was a good boy but some of the things I said to people…some of the things I thought about them…!

      I wish I could go back and do it again and notice people.

      Anyway – you’re right – we’re heading toward the ‘see yourself as beautiful day’ – heavens.

      I hope you are doing well, say his to the hubby, I think we’re well on our way to Easter now.

       

Talk to me!

 
