RSS

Day Twenty five; Everyday beauty

19 Mar

I visited the Dentist today.

It was a simple visit, no problems.

And I had spent the entire night previously, in a complete state of anxiety!

So today, my dentist was beautiful.

I actually stopped and LOOKED at him as he peered over me.

He has a wide face, sure, sparkling eyes, cream brown skin.

I realise that he’s younger than me.

I’ve read somewhere that you know you’re getting on, when the people serving you are younger than you are.

Pilots, Dentists, Doctors…all younger now.

I’m keeping an eye on beautiful things – I’m hoping that something will stand out before weeks end.

Are there UGLY things?

I’ve been thinking about the integrity of the human body. Some of the most ugly things involve injury to bodies. Accidents and such.

Come to think of it, any living creature that is damaged, is difficult for me to look at.

I think feet are beautiful.

I’m slowing down abit as we approach Easter, really trying to come to terms with what Jesus means for me.

This Sunday’s sermon was on patience; how you must hold on just when it’s all gone on too long, how you must focus on the fullness of time and the ultimate promise…that of heaven…how, you must wait like a farmer, knowing you’ve done all you can do and now depend on the rain to come.

I have a feeling it’s going to be a long week.

Watching his feet.

 

“Finally, brothers, whatever is …whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.” Philippians 4:8

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 19, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Day Twenty five; Everyday beauty

  1. Paula Tohline Calhoun

    March 20, 2012 at 05:39

    If you are going to watch feet, I guess the Lord’s are the best feet to watch! 😆 Do you think there are degrees of beauty? Like everyday beauty vs. extraordinary beauty. isn’t beauty, well, beauty? Sort of like Jesus telling a follower, “Don’t call me good. Only our father in heaven is good.” Our languages have been so muddied up with superlatives, that “good,” is no longer “good” enough! Such a shame. After all, God created the heavens and earth and called them “good.” That certainly ought to be the word that best describes any beauty. Now we have “better” and “best”. . .oh well

    I am slowing down physically, but my meditations seem to be speeding up – especially in wake of getting so little sleep. Interesting walk this. It’s hard to think about the week of passion being so close, when i still feel so unprepared. What about you? Anyway, it’s still good to walk with you on the road, and to visit with Jesus each night at the fire. He has such a marvelous laugh. A balm to my soul. . .

    Love,
    Paula

     
    • kolembo

      March 20, 2012 at 08:59

      I’m sorry abotu your health Paula, I really feel you.

      And no sleep to boot. You must be ragged!

      Yes I think Palm Sunday is this Sunday?

      Beauty is an odd one eh? It sometimes seems to suggest that it’s opposite is a necessary counter-point.

      I haven’t paid my internet bill so they’ve yanked me! I’ll have to see what I can do…

      See you this evening.

       
  2. Booksphotographsandartwork

    March 25, 2012 at 20:00

    Ha that’s so funny as my children and I can’t stand to see people’s feet. My daughter just started wearing flip flops last year and my son really doesn’t like it if you wear flip flops or sandels to his house! Baby feet though, those are great. I love baby feet. They are the cutest things on earth.

     

Talk to me!

 
