RSS

Day Twenty eight; Jesus, Mary & Beautiful Iconography

23 Mar

Was Jesus beautiful?

Was he an African? An Arab?

Why do we have pictures of Jesus?

I think about Muslims, and how they do not depict God at all, no physical representation.

Was Jesus, God?

It’s that holy trinity thing.

And Mary?

Is Mary beautiful?

And what is a beautiful icon?

You know…I’ve confronted the color of these representations a number of times.

Why was it so hard, to change the color of Jesus?

I don’t know how to imagine him.

I watched a program on Natural Geographic where they reconstruct him using computer.

It was interesting.

He’s an Arab. He looks like an Israeli. Not that the two accept the similarities between them.

I grew up in a Catholic school. There were rosaries and stained glass windows.

I have problems with who they deciede, deserves communion.

I have problems with how they organise themselves around the ‘Truth’.

Yet, they have beautiful aritifacts.

The history of Christianity is not beautiful.

Must I be Catholic, Anglican, Protestant, Lutheran, Mennonite – to get to God?

Strange question because they all answered ‘no’  when they broke away.

Beautiful.

Is the cross beautiful?

Do we define beauty ourselves or does it exist outside of us?

Jesus is looking scraggly tonight.

He is talking beautiful words though, of my freedom from this world, and a life beyond evil.

Is this world beautiful?

 

“A great sign appeared in Heaven, a woman clothed with the sun and the moon at her feet, and on her head a crown of 12 stars and she was with child…” (Revelation 12-13)

♦photo – st-marys-mons.org♦

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Day Twenty eight; Jesus, Mary & Beautiful Iconography

  1. Paula Tohline Calhoun

    March 23, 2012 at 04:32

    One of Hubs’ and my favorite Christmas Carols is called, “Some Children See Him.” Here are the lyrics:

    Some children see Him lily white
    the infant Jesus born this night
    Some children see Him lily white
    with tresses soft and fair

    Some children see Him bronzed and brown
    the Lord of heav’n to earth come down
    Some children see Him bronzed and brown
    with dark and heavy hair

    Some children see Him almond-eyed
    This Saviour whom we kneel beside
    Some children see Him almond-eyed
    With skin of yellow hue!

    Some children see Him dark as they
    Sweet Mary’s Son to whom we pray
    Some children see Him dark as they
    And, ah! they love Him so!

    The children in each different place
    Will see the Baby Jesus’ face
    Like theirs but bright with heav’nly grace
    And filled with holy light!

    O lay aside each earthly thing
    and with thy heart as offering
    Come worship now the infant King
    ’tis love that’s born tonight!

    . . . ’tis love that’s born tonight!

    Music by Wihla Hutson
    with Lyrics by Alfred Burt

    That song pretty much sums up what I think that Jesus looks like. I think that he was not described – in the New Testament anyway – for very specific reasons. We are supposed to identify with him individually. In reality, I suspect the man Jesus was probably very Hebrew in appearance, possibly with dark-brown skin. But really, what difference does it make? I always am amused by the so-called portraits of Jesus that have him depicted as a lily-white, blue-eyed, blond haired anglo-saxon. That to me is just stupid – except as a private vision of the man. But i do not limit my conception of Jesus to a physical presence, but as an overwhelming spiritual presence that cannot be painted or depicted in that way. Different strokes for different folks, I suspect.

    The old testament does describe the Messiah somewhat – as being not comely in appearance. Basically his charisma was the power of his personality and message, and not by his looks. I think part of the reason he was rejected by the Pharisees and other church leaders of the time is precisely because he was so ordinary looking.

    By the same token, I am drawn to different portraits of Jesus the man. That sounds contradictory, i know, but there are times when seeing what someone else sees helps me to clarify in my own mind what I see in my mind’s eye.

    Ashley and I have a favorite such portrait, called “Jesus and the Lamb,” by Katharine Brown. It is a picture of a shepherd with his arms lovingly wrapped around a lamb, with his face buried in the lamb’s coat. The lamb has the most blissful look on its face, that I am transported by it. I want to be that lamb and feel that embrace! The only way you know that it is Jesus who is the shepherd in the portrait is the scar visible on his hand. It is breathtaking. Here is a link to a site where you can see a copy of it: http://www.jesusandthelamb.com/

    I’ll see you are the campfire – and we’ll both see Jesus – in our own way! 😆

     
    • kolembo

      March 23, 2012 at 11:44

      Thanks for the picture Paula,
      Yes, Jesus as a whole understanding IS beautiful, very beautiful, and now, so far away from the event, it really doesn’t matter what colour he is.
      Hahaha – his pedestrian looks!
      Found that funny!
      So beauty is done, we’re into the misfortunes of giving advice!
      I hope you and Ashley are doing well – the church you go to sounds wonderful!

       
  2. Booksphotographsandartwork

    March 25, 2012 at 19:46

    The older I get the less beautiful the world is because I gain more knowledge of the evil that exists in the world. That leads to making heaven look just that much better.

     

Talk to me!

 
