RSS

Day thirty two; Being kind with advice.

27 Mar

 

 

An African American professor once told me after class that I stink.

That Americans shower everyday, and I should try and do the same.

I was very offended.

However, it was true – I didn’t shower everyday, I showered every OTHER day.

So in America, I shower everyday.

Telling it how it is.

How strong is too strong?

When does being direct become plain rudeness?

The lady who is writing these meditations looked at how sarcastic her advice can be, both to others and to herself. You’re in a situation with people you don’t get along with and you tell yourself how stupid you were to accept the position in the first place. Or you’re so fed up with your colleague you advise them to do the very opposite to what you know is good for them.

Giving advice I don’t mean, makes me very uncomfortable.

Being sarcastic makes me feel like a liar.

Tonight I want to advise Jesus to keep his head down, to not attract to much attention.

I want to advise him that there are people who don’t like his message of freedom.

I wonder if he listens to advice? Did Jesus ever ask for advice?

 

“Because he himself suffered when he was tempted, he is able to help those who are being tempted (Hebrews 2:18).

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 27, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Day thirty two; Being kind with advice.

  1. Paula Tohline Calhoun

    March 28, 2012 at 04:49

    I don’t know if Jesus asked for it, but I have often considered myself sort of an advisor to the Almighty! I am generally grateful that my advice is ignored. . . Jesus did not really need to ask for advice, because he was on a direct line (as we all can be) with the Father, WHo offered all the advice necessary.

    Check the post drafts – Ashley very graciously did a post for today (or your tomorrow). Hopwe you l;ike it! TTYL!

     
    • kolembo

      March 28, 2012 at 05:08

      hahaha, that’s funny! Smile on my face in the morning!

      Thank ashley for me, i’ll put it up for the day – I think I’m behind a day, it’ll give me the chance to meditate!

      Wishing you the best, Paula.

       

Talk to me!

 
