RSS

I didn’t know – interlude

29 Mar

I thought I’d read Luke.

I am astonished.

Did you know that in those days, each man could recite his linage back to Adam, and thence to God? I wonder about the women though.

Did you know that Jesus goes back to not Cain and Abel – Adams first two sons – but to Seth, his third, the one whom his mother Eve thanked God for replacting Abel, whom Cain had killed?

Did you know that Jesus was already well known? That he was a teacher at the synagoge? That his hoome town Nazareth threw him out for claiming to be the Son of God?

Infact, they took him to a cliff and were going to throw him off it. I did not know.

Also that he begins his ministry with miracles? Healing and casting out demons. He’s a rock star.

And that the first of his discliples turn their backs on the immense wealth he pours out to them to follow him?

And that Satan has real power over this Earth? He can offer Jesus the world. Infact, he can interact with and hold conversation with Jesus.

I did not know that, though we are promised his ultimate destruction, Satan weilds power OUTSIDE of God, to affect events.

That Jesus was hounded and often withdrew.

I am learning that extraordinary faith in the power of God can heal. They climbed the walls of the temple, and on a home-made rig, dangled a paralysed man before him!!

Jesus justifies the public healing by telling the Pharasies that they would not have believed him if he had just told them he was the Son of God.

So right from the get-go, Jesus has power from another world. He’s spectacular. That gives me problems. How was he ever, just a man? I don’t have all those fancy abilities. Or do I?

And that he came for sinners.

So many times I lurk in the background feeling that I am not the person he came for, that there are better people around me. But, it seems, he’s come for me.

Hahaha, and that he knows about wine!

Did you know that he began as a respected teacher in the church? That he gave sermons on Sunday, that people came and listened, that he had, already then, a following, not just disciples?

That the seed of his falling was planted by his fellow teachers who wanted to know why he was given power, how HE could break jewish law and not them? It was jealousy, pure and simple.

I didn’t know this.

I didn’t know that Cain killed Abel because God showed preferrence for Abels sacrifices at church – a nice fat heifer as opposed to some shrivelled corn.

That Cain KNEW that he was offering less than he should. I was NOT told that corruption existed at the beginning. There was only Adam, Eve, Cain and Abel.

That there’s an apostle called Bartholemew! Titter!

That his call to forgiveness is almost impossible – if someone takes your cloak, do not stop him from taking your tunic?

That he talks about advice. Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brothers eye – he says – and pay not attention to the plank in your own eye?

That I’m in love with the Centurion who begs for his slaves life – that against the onslaught on Liberterians, the truth is, that they are right, at least in their belief.

And that Lazarus, the terrifiying mummy, is NOT the only person Jesus raised from dead, he had returned a dead son to his mother BEFORE then, and that this is recorded as an ACTUAL event. After that, he returned a little daughter from death, to her father.

I remember newness in Chrits..when you gather in groups and in excited whispers, attest to the hand of God in our lives…

That a group of wealthy women travelled with him and fed his disciples, and the people who came to visit.

That despair is as much, a weapon of Satan, as it is our laziness.

That of this, this is Jesus’ scariest warning-

-whoever has more will be given more; whoever does not have, what he thinks he has, will be taken away from him.

That he commanded not just Death, but also the Winds, and the Waters.

I see clearly now. It was not just a matter of belief. This man was a wonder. He came with the authority of God. It was not about believing or not, it was about choice. My choice whether to go with him or not.

That the power of healing and forgiveness and everything else, is NOT held in check by God, and dished out on permission. It is available everywhere and all the time. The lady who could not stop bleeding, who was lost in the crowd when she touched Jesus’ cloak, was healed. Even Jesus said that ‘…power has gone out.’

That sometimes the miracles you receive, you must keep to yourself. It’s not always fanatic.

I would have loved to be at the feeding of five thousand.

“I tell you – some who are standing here will not taste death, untill they have seen the kingdom of God.” Who were they?

That – and this is most amazing – Jesus was revealed to Peter, John and James AS THE SON OF GOD, as light in the company of Moses, dead for thousands of years, and Elijah, abducted by aliens, and heard the DIRECT sound of God proclaiming it so!

I did not know this.

That the disciples argued about who would be the greatest among them in heaven! Hahahaha! boys!

That the saying IS – ‘…whoever is NOT against you, is for you.’

That Jesus ‘resolutely set out for Jerusalem’. He marched to his death.

When he sent messengers ahead of him, he said to them ‘…do not move from house to house.’ The first house of peace is where he stays. I want to be that house.

“Which of you fathers, if your son asks for a fish, will give him a snake instead? Or if he asks for an egg, will give him a scorpion? If you then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give the holy Spirit to those who ask him!”

The saying also is – ‘…he who is not with me, is against me…’

“Therefore this generation will be held responsible for the blood of all the prophets that has been shed since the beginning of the world…”

I did not know these things and I am astonished.

I’m going to carry on reading the book of Luke until I get to his entrance to Jerusalem and then pick the story up from there on Sunday.

I didn’t know.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 29, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “I didn’t know – interlude

Talk to me!

 
