RSS

Day thirty nine; Letting others lead

05 Apr

 

 

Still on sacrifice, today’s meditation was to allow OTHERS, the space to lead.

I didn’t understand it at first, but I got it. In other words, I think, to sacrifice feelings of defensiveness and allow others to be right.

I don’t always like to be told what to do.

I will let people know what needs to be done, and will complain about not being listened to when things don’t go my way.

I will assume that I have the answers to a situation and will not be comfortable letting others lead.

If you want something done well, do it yourself.

Well, other people can take the strain if I let them.

They have ideas and means and opinions that are important.

Of course they do.

It’s a sacrifice because I have to shut up.

Really shut up and let it happen.

So tonight I’m not going to argue with Peter, or Simon, or Mark, I’m not going to tell them how to deal with this situation, I’m not going to tell God what I need.

I’m going to watch and see if I can help reach the goal.

I’m going to be a team player.

 

“Love is not arrogant…” (1 Corinthians 13:4)

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 5, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Day thirty nine; Letting others lead

  1. Paula Tohline Calhoun

    April 6, 2012 at 04:56

    Ooooh! Good luck with that goal! We share that bad habit in common! Sometimes it just seems so much easier to do it by yourself. Letting others lead or even help is often a big sacrifice for me. But I frequently find when I do cede the leadership position, even though the job is done differently, it is often done better! Very humbling!

    I think the same rule applies, as far as sacrifice goes when we are giving. Scripture says “It is more blessed to GIVE than to RECEIVE.” I have always loved giving far more than receiving. But one day I realized that if I am always giving, i am not giving other people the opportunity to feel the same blessing. Learning how to receive has been a very humbling lesson, but it has been wonderful too. So many people have such wonderful things to offer and to give – and to be someone on the receiving end is a blessing as well. . .but I still prefer giving! 😆

    We had a meditation service at church tonight for Maundy Thursday. It was wonderful. It was a “come and go” service. You came on your own time, and left when you were ready. The communion table was open, there were pastors there to serve as you were ready, there was a prayer team ready to offer prayers for you should you desire, and there was a foot washing station, where you were invited to have your feet washed or to wash another’s. The whole service was an extraordinary blessing. music was playing in the background. There were paintings and photos of art work depicting the last supper on the view screen, along with different readings to follow along with if you wished, as well as a small leaflet with other suggestions for guided meditation on it. It was a perfect evening, and just what I needed.

    Tomorrow is the big day. Even tonight, Jesus is at the Garden of Gethsemane. I will try to stay awake, but I fear I will nod off with the others. . .Can’t I wait and pray with Him for an hour? I’ll try.

    I will meet you at the foot of the cross tomorrow. Be there to hold my hand. It is so hard to watch.

     
    • kolembo

      April 6, 2012 at 13:23

      hi Paula!

      Church sounded wonderful! Footwashing? What an idea.

      I was quiet last night. I remembered all the Easters I’ve done.

      I was going to do a silent retreat this weekend and really get into it…but I’ve decieded to be with Simon this weekend.

      Last night I felt guilty about it. I felt like I was making a choice.

      This morning it’s ok. I’m spending this weekend in Thanksgiving.

      I know a person cannot be the source of another’s happiness, that, that source must be God, but after all this time, and all the bad days, I turned the corner and found God had made something possible.

      He’s not as Jesus as I am, not as God as I’d like – he’s a soft one who has it all inside but something happened…afraid sort of.

      So, I will open the bible and read Luke, and walk with Jesus and listen to you…you can take me through today and tomorrow.

      It’s all happened, the town is abuzz with whispers and hush, where once I was with those dashing about trying to mount a defence, this year I’m soaking rags to see if I can at least clean him, being with the women who want to tend to him, running with Mary to find his mother.

      It’s all so sad.

       
  2. wightrabbit

    April 8, 2012 at 13:41

    Oh dear, I’m guilty of all those things you mention. So, just for today, I’m going to take your lead! Thank you for this thought-provoking post.

     
    • kolembo

      April 8, 2012 at 13:56

      Hahaha! You’re not the only one it seems! I think though, there is balance, and sometimes, when we hit it right, people actually WANT us to lead!

      But here’s to being gracious enough to let others have a go at it.

       

Talk to me!

 
