RSS

Day forty three; Monitering friendliness around you

10 Apr

 

 

So, it’s Tuesday.

The excitment of Lent and Easter and Ressurection is fading away, leaving a warm, delicate feeling of emerging into sunshine.

I can hear birds newly, see people newly.

It feels good. Not radically different, and yet, under-lying it all, a great sense of expectancy and peace.

I can deal with everything.

My hundred day journey continues however, and though my first response is a groan (Paula! my goodness! more????!!!!!! Ahhhhhhhh – runs away from the laptop with my hand jammed into my afro…)

This week we deal with friendliness.

The nun who delivers the One Hundred Days is obviously a tech freak of some sort…one of those who’s decieded that the only way we can communicate is through email, and IT MUST WORK OR ELSE LIFE STOPS!

Anyway, it’s clear that she takes everything to God.

Monitering my friendliness, I am immediately aware at how I was with the gas-station attendant who didn’t fix my puncture as he said he would on two occasions.

I was testy and dismissive.

I realise that when I feel hurt or ignored I can become haughty.

Haughtiness is dealing with people as though they are less worthy than you.

It’s ugly enough when used with people who really couldn’t care less what you think, but it’s darn right destructive when used on those who do not feel as good as you.

It’s abhorrent and I have no right.

It’s mid-day – usually I write on the night after the day so I have something to say, but sometimes that means that I haven’t done the work until then!

Today I’m going to see what I’m like with people, what they’re like with me, and what they’re like with each other.

 

Proverbs 17:17 and 18:24

Paula, today I noticed that the verse she’s given is utterly different from what I have in MY bible! You?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 10, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Day forty three; Monitering friendliness around you

  1. Paula Tohline Calhoun

    April 12, 2012 at 05:27

    Love those meerkats! BTW, where in Kenya do you live? Ashley and I have dreams of visiting Africa. Kenya is on my list of countries I want to visit – especially with my camera. But we both want to visit the Rep. of Congo, because that is where Bishop Lambuth established the first Methodist Mission in Africa, at Wembo Nyama. Ashley’s family has a strong connection with the story of Bishop Lambuth and Dr, Gilbert (his partner in mission. I also have long dreamed of a photo safari in Tanzania, and Kenya, and parts of SA as well as Botswana, etc. I know that those countries are very far apart. It would take more than one dream trip, I’m afraid. Anyway, I have put out the prayer request. God will say yes or no, as it should be. I’ll just watch and wait!

    I have been out of town, got back today. Ashley was giving his presentation on the life of Bishop Lambuth at Emory and Henry College in southwestern Virginia. It was a about 2-1/2 hour drive. We stayed a couple of nights and enjoyed seeing old friends, as we served there when we first moved south from Vermont. That is why my reply is delayed. BTW, had you listed to the link I sent yet? Just a reminder! ūüėÜ

    I have as Proverbs 18:24 in the New International Version:

    One who has unreliable friends soon comes to ruin,
    but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.

    And Proverbs 17:17 is:

    A friend loves at all times,
    and a brother is born for a time of adversity.

    What do you have? Sometimes the translations vary widely, but in this case they both have to do with he nature of friendships, so they seem appropriate for the whole task of “monitoring our friendliness and friendships.

    You sound as though you are still sailing on an Easter High! Me too! I know that life doesn’t always feel this good, so i enjoy it when it is here, and know that the less-than-good times will pass as well. Life is like that. Good thing we have our companion along the road. I need him more than ever.

    I hope to get back in the writing and commenting routine soon. One day away, and everything gets out of sync, it seems!

    Take care, Kenny. Keep your heart open. See you at the campfire! BTW, have you considered apologizing to the man at the garage? Just a thought!

     
  2. kolembo

    April 12, 2012 at 22:36

    hi paula!

    I can see, in my minds eye, you and Ashley doing the trip!

    By the way, Kenya, Tanzania and Congo are not that far apart, it’s South Africa that’s a bit away.

    Yes, I’m feeling good, and bracing for feeling bad which really isn’t the best way of spending time while I’m feeling good!

    Ahhh.

    Feeling very lethargic with posting today but going over there now.

    Sending African Mirth!

     
  3. Paula Tohline Calhoun

    April 13, 2012 at 02:19

    Keep that picture in your head! I shall keep praying and dreaming, and waiting!

    The scripture for Day 44 is: ‚ÄúHow good and pleasant it is for brothers and sisters to be together.‚ÄĚ Psalms 133:1

    oO it would be very good in God’s eyes for us all to be together! Can you get a film job over here? That would be so cool! All we need to prepare for your visit is one or two days’ notice! Come on over! I promise that as soon as we can, we will be in Kenya! (But God only knows when that will be – I just hope it is in this lifetime and on this side of eternity!)

    And so, throughout Day 44 I contemplate the goodness of communion with all my brothers and sisters. The very best times of my life have been in their company, so it is always a joy!

    See you at the campfire!

     
    • kolembo

      April 13, 2012 at 15:44

      hey there,

      thanks for the comment! Couldn’t get on yesterday so at least I had the scripture and meditation to think about!

      My weeks slowley returning to normal…this weekend I’ve made sometime for friends so I’m buying fish for a fish curry.

      Sending you the best, onward!

       

Talk to me!

 
