RSS

Day fifty two; Patience in the face of Frustration

22 Apr

 

 

I get frustrated very easily.

If things don’t go my way, in the manner that I have planned, I am immediately frustrated.

Not a sign of the mature adult eh?

But there it is. I have spent the day in knots un-happy with the state of things, upset and feeling lonely. I have been asked to be patient for a while now, and I am trying.

What do you do with patience?

It’s a truly humbling experience. You’re angry, you’re frustrated, you want something NOW, you want justice NOW.

How is it for those who need some sort of closure for their lives, to have to be patient?

How terrible can it be for those who’ve had someone go missing on them? Or be released from prison having been improperly jailed? Or…or…or…?

Sigh.

This week is a difficult meditation topic for me – I get red around the collar, I can feel the steam now.

I am watching myself through patience. It’s like – if I KNEW everything would be OK, I’d be patient.

So.

I have to know that everything is OK, even when I don’t.

I have to trust.

“Moreover [let us also be full of joy now!] let us exult and triumph in our troubles and rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that pressure and affliction and hardship produce patient and unswerving endurance.” (Romans 5:3)

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 22, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Day fifty two; Patience in the face of Frustration

  1. Paula Tohline Calhoun

    April 23, 2012 at 01:04

    Ah, Impatience and worry. . .impatience and worry. . .impatience and worry. The great “bugaboos” of so many Christians. They are incongruent with our faith. That doesn’t keep us from actively practicing both in the extreme. You are not alone! I have learned something about both of them. As far as Patience goes, if you tend to be impatient, then NEVER PRAY FOR PATIENCE! Because God always answers prayer, God will likely find ways to put you in situations where you will need it. Worry? Don’t ever tell me NOT to worry! Because nothing I worry about ever happens!

    Enough with the feeble attempt at humor. . .

    I am among the most impatient of people on the face of the earth. The thing is, I really do trust that God will see everything through, that all will work out according to God’s plan. So I tell that to God. I will find myself saying things, in total belief, like, “Lord, I thank You for being with me and my loved ones throughout this difficult time. I know that You will be working in and through us as we allow, and that ultimately, we will see your Grace in every moment, and I know that it will all work out in the way that it should, for our best, because I know You love us. But, please, dear Lord, TELL ME WHEN!!!”

    It’s not that I don’t believe that God will take care of it, I just need to know WHEN that will be accomplished! And so I lose patience (with everyone and everything), and I find myself worrying about things over which I have no control. What a mess. I constantly remind myself that “God isn’t finished with me yet.” I like to at least think that I can get better at this discipleship business. But you know of course, that we have chosen a very difficult and narrow path to walk. Yes, the rewards are enormous, and the scenery is beautiful most of the time, but it is a very steep and rocky road.

    Relax a bit, I guess, is the best advice for both of us, and try to recognize that impatience seldom brings sturdy or reliable results. And whatever I may think during difficult times, there really is no amount of worry that will change what will happen, not a single moment will be added or subtracted from my day, etc.

    Best advice? Live as close to God as you can, let the rest go. If only it were as easy to do as it is to say or write. . .

    See you at the campfire1 I feel like sipping from (and probably finishing) a nice glass of wine. How about you?

     
    • kolembo

      April 23, 2012 at 02:14

      Wine in hand, tittering! Thanks for the great prayer. And you’re funny! Onward!

       
      • Paula Tohline Calhoun

        April 23, 2012 at 02:26

        You’ll know you have had too much wine when you can’t stop tittering! 😆

         
  2. kolembo

    April 23, 2012 at 11:52

    haha…tittered all night filtering through your comments. Somehow it doesn’t look so ‘ponderous’ in the morning! Ahhhh. Good wine there. Have a gorgeous day.

     

Talk to me!

 
