RSS

Day fifty five; Patience within the church

25 Apr

 

Ahhhh, gossip!

I love all the shenanegans that go on behind the spiritual curtains.

The Brahma Kumaris are a nun-like community. The sisters and brothers live there, and wear white. They are celibate. So when you get a glimpse of the going’s on it’s like Days of our Lives.

Who got sister Vedanta’s eye? Whose bag of crips that was – flavoured no less. Why that new one enjoys Sister Nita’s company so much.

I think it’s the same in monastries and temples everywhere.

Human beings are human beings anywhere and I feel so sorry watching them deal with the falleness of it all.

Still, more often than not, it’s the patience that they show each other and the happenings of the world that touches me.

I find peace and space there, where I’m not judged. At least not until I’ve been there long enough to have been ‘read’.

I’m still having a hard time with patience – long week – but I’m calming down with it a little and I can tell that, along with Gratitude, Patience will be something I’m left with long after the hundred days are over.

Wishing you all great patience with yourself and your loved ones.

 

“Do not kick against the goad.” (Acts 9:5)

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 25, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Day fifty five; Patience within the church

  1. Paula Tohline Calhoun

    April 26, 2012 at 00:22

    Kenny – I’m still here with you! Be not dismayed!

    Patience is probably the hardest thing – at least for me.

    As a Pastor’s wife, I have had an inside view on the behavior of church members for 37 years, and as a church member add many years to that (all of my 61 years!), my view was different, but nevertheless, over time you get some good ideas about the way church members and Christians behave. Ashley has a saying, “The church is like the world, only more so!” It is a concentrated representation of all the traits that all people inside or outside of the church have. We notice the shortcomings within the church more because we somehow expect people who call themselves Christian to behave better. Sometimes they do, and sometimes they don’t. The most wonderful people in the world have been fellow church members, and so have the most hateful and spiteful. It’s a mystery, but it only goes to show that we are all fallible. “All have sinned and fall short of the Glory of God.” That’s why we need Christ, and the Community of Christ – to keep us reaching beyond ourselves, and to help to keep us accountable for our behavior.

    Of course, you know that I am perfect! 😆 (NOT!!!!) I suspect that you too are perfect, and my judgement is infallible. . . 😆

    We’ll both have to keep working on our patience. I’m glad our paraclete is with us. I need that traveling companion, as I also need you!

    See you at the campfire!

     
    • kolembo

      April 26, 2012 at 02:53

      Hahahaha! Written like an insider! Some of the nicest AND some of the – well! Ya, all of sinned and never mind us holding THEM up to a higher standard – the better ones hold THEMSELVES to THE highest standard don’t they? I’m up early rescuing Madam from a neighbourhood cat-scrap…she’s mewing pitifully. Un-harmed but was at a disadvantage (otherwise ahe takes care of herself!) – vet put her in a cone, she’s been worrying a little fungus behind her ear. So it’s enforced indoors for a couple of days! I’ll put out some favourite foods and coo at her for a little bit. Simon was a star…daddy to the rescue…found him out in underwear and trash with broomstick! So he gets hot chocolate and….! Would love to send you some African sunshine but I’m afraid it’s lashings of monsoon rain. Forget the parasol, tarpaulin dahlink!

       
      • Paula Tohline Calhoun

        April 26, 2012 at 05:13

        Poor kitty! Hope she gets her nose back in joint. That’s an American expression, I think! When someone (or something) has her/his feelings hurt or is upset about something, we say they “”have their nose out of joint!”

        Simon does sound the true hero! Give him my congratulations. 😆

        As far as church members go – I could tell you some stories! As a matter of fact that is sort of what I am doing in my book that I am currently writing! Most of the stories are funny, but some are not. Church people can be so hateful sometimes! On the other hand, and far more frequently, they are the most wonderful people on the face of the earth.

        For as long as I can remember – indeed for my whole life, (and my brothers’ lives as well) when my mother was alive, we never left her presence without her telling us, “Remember who you are!” It is a tradition that both Ashley and I have carried on with our own children, and one that our son Matt is continuing with his own little daughter, Zoë. So, I will close this comment – especially considering our struggle with learning and practicing patience – with the same reminder. You know who you are, don’t you? Kenneth – you are a son of God, so “Remember who you are!”

        Paula

         

Talk to me!

 
