RSS

Day fifty seven; Generosity

27 Apr

Right.

Patience was a difficult week to get through, but it’s left me some room to be a little lighter around disappointment.

I recognised that each of the topics that I cover tend to show up in my life over the course of the week.

It’s because I’m conscious then, about Appreciating, or Forgiving or Patience, and that what I am consciously being aware of, begins to manifest in my life.

So this self-help thing the world seems to have gotten into with the coming of Oprah – I think there IS something to it.

How I think, what I train myself to be aware of, and how I feel about my ability to react, all create what is happening around me.

‘Creating the life you live’, is something that I steer clear of because it doesn’t explain poverty and people in distress, well enough for me.

This week I move into Generosity.

I sensed an immediate tighting of Spirit – a sort of pulling-up-of-the-skirts.

I consider myself to be a generous person, and I recognise generosity as it’s accorded to me.

I also recognise that I am a person in need a lot of the time, and that when I am operating in ‘lack’, I really think hard about every act of generosity.

When I was younger, I was reckless with what I had – but I saw that what I gave out in love, I received many times in return.

This is still true today, but it is more difficult to give when it is clear that my own life is not exactely overflowing.

On the other hand, I am healthy, I am in love, I have family, I am warm, fed and entertained.

So this week of generosity, I am praying for a breakthrough to last a lifetime.

I’d like some freedom in giving. I’d like to be able to give of myself in good spirit, in faith, and from a sense of abundance and gratitude, and I’d like to learn to do this spontaneously and keep it for a lifetime.

I am scared what this may mean – how dealing with generosity is going to show up this week then – and I want to ask for help.

I’m up for this though.

I know what it feels like to be in need, and to have this need met.

Perhaps I know enough about it to meet some needs in others.

♦photo – africatravelpic

As for the rich in this present age, charge them not to be haughty, nor to set their hopes on the uncertainty of riches, but on God, who richly provides us with everything to enjoy. They are to do good, to be rich in good works, to be generous and ready to share, thus storing up treasure for themselves as a good foundation for the future, so that they may take hold of that which is truly life. – (1 Timothy 6:17-19)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 27, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Day fifty seven; Generosity

  1. Paula Tohline Calhoun

    April 28, 2012 at 03:15

    I am ashamed of myself when I act like I am poor. I am so abundantly blessed, that saying or behaving otherwise is a sin of the first magnitude. When I consider how much food I throw away on a weekly basis, I cry. There are people who died today who would be alive if they had just a portion of what I waste. Criminal. Well, I’ve identified the problem – now I have to do something about it! There’s the rub. . .

    The secret to generosity is living always with an attitude of wealth. The very poorest of people on this earth can live that way too. Attitude has so much to do with the quality of our lives. I wish I lived like I really believed that with my whole heart. I long to be more generous, and at the same time I long to be debt free. For some reason or other I got the idea in my head that they cannot co-exist. But there is absolutely no reason me not to work to free myself from debt AND give away my money and my talents/gifts at the same time. Wealth breeds wealth, and the measure you give will be the measure you receive. I believe that. Now, Kenny, tell me:

    WHY DON’T I LIVE THAT WAY??? The eternal battle between heart an mind. . .Oh well. We shall journey on. The road feels awfully rocky today. What about you?

    See you tonight!

    Paula

     
    • kolembo

      April 28, 2012 at 10:48

      Yeah, coming from ‘poverty’ as a Christian, WHATEVER my situation feels like a lie!

      Jesus has never let me down even though I need alot all the time.

      Forty days to go.

      onward!

       

Talk to me!

 
