RSS

Day seventy four; Decluttering my life

22 May

 

I laughed at this one today!

There is no hope of decluttering my life. I am surrounded by it. My only reprieve is that I don’t have much.

Still, it is clutter!

Simon and I have been spending alot of time doing nothing.

I feel so relaxed, I don’t think I have a heart beat.

We’ve watched some films (at the cinema!), we’ve had a couple of dinners (out!), we’ve bought new glasses.

I’ve been on the net far to much, but he’s been on the couch next to me, flicking through the channels.

It feels like rest, and I’m loving it.

And like the Sunday before the Monday – I’m tensing up over what it means.

When is the next mad rush going to begin?

Will I be rested enough?

Will it be something fun? Fulfilling?

We have a gap in the clouds, the suns coming through, and I’m feeling shone upon.

This Sunday the sermon was on Maturing as a Christian, and how that meant engagement with community.

It made perfect sense.

When it was over, I left as fast as I could, said nothing to anyone, fled right back to my couch.

Ah.

Decluttering my life.

If I could only get passed my memories being of things I’ve done wrong, places I haven’t been my best.

“Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things, but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.” (Luke 10: 42)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 22, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Day seventy four; Decluttering my life

  1. Paula Tohline Calhoun

    May 22, 2012 at 15:44

    Alas! My dear Kenny! I think you must have given up on me ever writing again. For one thing I have been dealing with a bit of depression, which seemed to come at me from left field, and I can think of no reason why. Sometimes life just is. I am muddling through, and the sun is showing itself in my life each day a bit more. I know I will be fine. God has always seen me through – I see no reason for God to stop now – although I do marvel at His/Her patience!

    Clutter is one of the things that Ashley and I deal with on a daily basis! We are in the midst of trying to sell our house, and real estate sellers tell you constantly to “de-clutter” your home so that people can imagine themselves in the house and not be distracted by all of our own artifacts and photos. It has been a slow process and a difficult one, because it is our home! When we visit other homes that we are considering for buying (we want to be closer to town and Ashley’s job), we never have any problem looking beyond other people’s clutter and imagining ourselves there – especially in places we like! We are fortunate in that we do not have to sell our house, and we love it! But being closer to town would save us some gas money, so if we get the right price we will sell – but we won’t take any offer below what we feel the house is worth – even in this depressed real estate market.

    But, de-cluttering has more to do with de-cluttering our lives and not our possessions. My mind – especially when I am depressed – gets cluttered up with so much devil-junk. He tells me that I am worthless and lazy, and a sinner beyond redemption, because I continue to commit the same sins over and over and omit the same things over and over. Sometimes God can feel so far away at those times that I wonder if God has given up on me – even when in my heart of hearts, I know that will never happen. Human beings are so odd. We complain that God has turned away from us, and we are the ones who have turned away from God! Christians are fortunate to be able to have the blessed assurance of Christ’s presence near whenever we reach out our hand (if we only will!). Other faiths also have that assurance, but I don’t know if that is something that they rely upon in the same way. But I am ignorant of so much.

    I wish you could have been with us at church this past Sunday. We had the ceremony of Confirmation of about 25 young people, which also included the baptism of several who had not yet been baptized. It was such a joyful thing, and I spent the hour crying at the wonderful commitment these young people were making.while at the same time knowing that some will fall away – at least for a while, even as I did. I believe that it a necessary part of the journey toward a life of Christian living. But I also know that seeds were planted, and the seeds will grow and blossom in their own time.

    So, I shall continue to get rid of the clutter that Satan piles up around my soul, and I pray for you and Simon the same. How appealing that clutter can be! As an American I have so much. We give and give away, but find that the vacuum created is filled almost immediately. I hope that my attachment to things can come to an end. What are “things” anyway? Just stuff to take your heart away from where it belongs. Would you like to have some of our things? Come over and visit, and there is plenty you can have! In any event, please come and visit. We are also working on ways to visit Africa – especially Kenya and you and Simon and your mother and the rest of your family!.As the old hymn says: “What a day of rejoicing that will be!”

    When you get the opportunity, would you please tell me what sort of films you make, and if there are any that I could see? Also: I need a poem from you. Would you write one for me? That would be a great source of joy and an honor for me! I shall write one for you, my friend and brother in Christ.

    XO Paula

     
    • kolembo

      May 23, 2012 at 12:35

      Hi Paula!

      I too have been ‘away’ a little bit. Coming on every now and then.

      It’s been a strange couple of weeks.

      I too am selling property and hoping it goes well.

      I have you in my mind and in my heart and I know you and Ashley will find that place which makes you wonder why you were hanging onto to this one so dearly!

      Onward, my friend.

       

Talk to me!

 
