RSS

Day eighty-five; Co-operative forces

06 Jun

From the front yard at Simons

Venus Live internet, Norway2012

We did see it! Honest!

“ A dispute arose between them about which should be reckoned the greatest, but he said to them, “Among pagans it is the kings who lord it over them, and those who have authority over them are given the title Benefactor. This must not happen with you. No; the greatest among you must behave as if he were the youngest, the leader as if he were the one who serves…here I am among you as one who serves!” (Luke 22:25)

 

Celestial bodies cross in and out of each others paths all the time.

One galaxy collides into another, a billion stars fight to illuminate a billion planets, eclipses are a dime a dozen – depending on where you are, and whether you think.

This morning (In Nairobi), Venus crossed in front of the Sun for the second time in ten years and won’t do so again for another hundred years.

It was a small dot against a shimmering backdrop – so small it looked like a pimple on a smooth, orange cheek.

Simon woke me up, and we put on all the sunglasses we could find, and we went outside, and peering through a piece of photographic film, saw this dot, there, on the very edge of the glowing surface of the Sun.

We saw it.

With the shadow of Venus exciting my retina for the very first time, I understood that Venus is not a star, is not a moon, it’s a planet.

I saw on this planet and in this moment the possibility that, in many years to come, perhaps thousands, other human beings would gaze on another planet – one not so hot, not so angry – from which an organised signal had just been received and to which we were just sending a reply, one on which other creatures, appendages on brow, would be gazing back to us, standing, peering up, right here on this blue one at the edge of the Sun.

I like doing things my way and when I’m in a group, I like to lead.

I can follow too but I follow, begrudgingly.  I do not listen well, I do not feel I inspire people, I am bossy and I fight to get things done.

This week I will meditate on Co-operation. I want to learn to co-operate with the forces of live.

I want to learn to co-operate with those forces of Providence, Planning and Patience that shape my moments of growth.

I want a chance to feel like a part of it- a true part of life – feel as though I am important, and can change things and can make a difference – but the Universe throws up billions of shadows, off billions of planet, onto billions of others.

Venus has crossed and nothing has changed.

It’s gone off without me and I want to know where I stand.

This week I will learn of co-operation.

 

Take a look at a LEGO a day – a glorious lego look at life! This post on his ‘Transit’.

“You know that the so-called rulers of the heathen lord it over them, and their great men have absolute power. But it must not be so among you. No, whoever among you wants to be great must become the slave of all men! For the Son of Man himself has not come to be served but to serve, and to give his life to set many others free.” (Mark 10: 42-45)

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 6, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Day eighty-five; Co-operative forces

  1. Paula Tohline Calhoun

    June 6, 2012 at 18:52

    Actually, Kenny, everything has changed – because creation is not static. It’s up to us to observe and notice, and maybe even change ourselves a bit – hopefully for the better! I love the LEGO site, and have become a follower! What a wonderful teacher, and how fortunate his students! Thanks for the introduction!

    See you at the campfire – assuming my body will cooperate! 😆

     
    • lesleehare

      June 8, 2012 at 23:39

      Hi, Paula, what Lego site, please? My son and I would love to know! Thank you & happy Transit! Leslee

       
  2. lesleehare

    June 8, 2012 at 23:37

    Oh, what a wonderful post! This vision that you hold will get us through! 🙂

     
  3. Mandi

    June 28, 2012 at 07:44

    This is a comment to the webmaster. I discovered your “Day eighty-five; Co-operative forces Absolutely Random – Shitsugane” page via Google but it was difficult to find as you were not on the front page of search results. I see you could have more traffic because there are not many comments on your site yet. I have found a website which offers to dramatically increase your rankings and traffic to your site: http://www.trafficforseo.com/web-traffic. I managed to get close to 1000 visitors/day using their services, you could also get lot more targeted traffic than you have now. I used their services and got significantly more traffic to my site. Hope this helps 🙂 Take care.

     

Talk to me!

 
