RSS

Jesus Flashing!

04 Jul

 

Firstly, Happy Independence day all you Americans!

Ya you have stuff to get better on and – for one, re-elect Obama – but seriously, for whatever else you have been blamed, YOU are still here, YOU are still leading, the world would be a far worse place without the DREAM you are now responsible for – the dream of BETTER for all, the respect for every human being on earth.

Ok, so I’ve had a lazy week so far, feeling funny posting outside of meditation, and deep matters, and internal battles.

I’m watching Duets and I’m amazed at how people are blessed with voices!

Simon found the above package in a dim corner of his house. I couldn’t believe it! Jesus Flashing! It must be at least twenty years old.

Why would anyone buy something like this?

And yet, deep inside I can feel the sheer devotion coming off it.

Jesus number One.

Jesus Flashing!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 4, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Jesus Flashing!

  1. Paula Tohline Calhoun

    July 5, 2012 at 00:57

    First of all – please continue to pray that President Obama will be elected. It is part of my heart, mind, soul, and prayers every day, that people will actually think for themselves,and not be strung along by half-truth and outright lies that are being propagated by those people who are against him. Ashley and i both believe along with President Jimmy Carter (a HIGHLY underrated president!) that much of the problem that Obama has suffered is due to racism – pure and simple – even though many would not ever admit it or say so. It is still a problem in the USA, and.one that has sort of gone “undercover.” There is nothing I can do but pray and hope that, as President Lincoln said so many years ago, that “the better angels of our natures” will take over.

    I love the flashing Jesus! There’s something about it that does have a certain appeal. I wonder that Simon was the one who found it! If nothing else, such a “flashing” symbol could serve as a reminder of his constant presence – even if it is just a bit “tacky!” ūüėÜ

    I pray God’s continued blessings on you both, and all of your family. I can’t wait to hear of the news of your meeting my friends, and people soon to be your friends as well. You will love them, I am quite certain! I know they will love you – why would they not? You are a very lovable son of God in your own right!

    I’ll let you know their arrival time.

    God be with you, as always!
    Paula – wishing you the abundance of enough. . .

     
    • kolembo

      July 5, 2012 at 07:22

      Hi Paula!
      Ya, Jesus Flashing is quite something eh!
      We have elections too soon and also hoping that the ‘spirit’ of truth – so hard to come by – is available to all.

      Looking forward to meeting your people…I want to find them at their church Sunday.

      I know you must have told me which one, but I can’t find that information! So let me know which church they’re at for Sunday and I’ll take it from there…

      Much love as always!

       
  2. Titirangi Storyteller

    July 5, 2012 at 03:19

    I have no Jesus flashing – but I am attracted to religious kitsch, iconography and memorabilia from all faiths and corners of the earth. This would feel right at home here, though I doubt I’d have it flashing all that often…

     
    • kolembo

      July 5, 2012 at 07:26

      Hahaha! I almost fell over when we plugged it in! Wah! It’s vicious…welding glasses, honest!
      Sending a huge, warm smile for the day…weekend coming up!
      How’s your daughter settling in by the way?

       
      • Titirangi Storyteller

        July 5, 2012 at 17:10

        I’m planning to go shooting light trails this weekend, so should have some interesting images and maybe a story or two next week.

        I think my daughter had a bit of a blue period after the wedding – all the excitement, build-up planning and parties for the better part of a year. And after they came back from the honeymoon, I think ‘real life’ was a bit of a let down… but that has passed and she seems happy and settling into a grown-up life… still my baby, though…

         
      • kolembo

        July 5, 2012 at 17:57

        She’ll be your baby for life. Just the other day I was crying on my mum’s shoulder. She had this – still my son – look about her that I was needing furiously! Post wedding blues eh? I mean, they’ve just begun…you must be nervous too…so much can happen…you begin to understand how blessed you are if life shines your way and you make it in love. Ahhh.

         

Talk to me!

 
