RSS

Day Twenty-three: beautiful strangers

16 Mar

 

Who are strangers?

I am surrounded by people that i do not know.

I’ve been spending alot of time alone this year – so I feel unqualified for alot of these ‘other people’ meditations.

Today I used the television to look at beautiful strangers.

What I noticed is that not many people are ‘beautiful’ in that magazine way.

In fact, I noticed that very few people look like the people we use to represent us

So what is beautiful?

I hear all the cliches – everyone is beautiful – it comes from inside – life itself beautiful.

I agree with these things – yet what makes people beautiful for me?

What makes me look twice and think about HOW that person looks? And is it important?

I don’t know.

I like hairy, toned men – not too muscular.

They are almost always white. I have increasing questions about this. .

I think I’m ok with it…the thing is, I’m not really interested in how people look.

Honestly.

I am less sure when there is concrete difference involved – blindness, scars etc but this lasts only for the time it takes to know each other.

I’m not sure how to address overt situations like this – I used to be direct, but as I grow older, I recognise that they are human, and like everyone else, they are sometimes consious about how they come across.

I’ll continue to look at people this week – it’s been interesting – eyes, ears, noses, skin, hair, legs, arms….gosh, it’s all so intricate and marvellous.

Tonight spirits are high, voices are loud, there’s singing and dancing and I recognise that there are a lot of different types of people here.

I am giddy.

I feel ok to be myself, to be human.

 

“The alien who resides with you shall be to you as a citizen among you; you shall love the alien as yourself, for you were aliens in the land of Egypt: I am the Lord your God.” (Leviticus 19:34)

♦photo – cookiesound.com♦

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 16, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

One response to “Day Twenty-three: beautiful strangers

  1. kreemer

    March 16, 2017 at 10:19

    Consumed by lust! Lascivious!
    Ahhhh.
    So, yeah. Beautiful people.
    Am I racist?
    Do I have a thing with Black Men? It comes up. I have no answers, what I see terrifies me. Mm

    What am I going to tell the class on Saturday?

    What is beautiful?

     

Talk to me!

 
