RSS

Day Twenty-nine; Good advice, bad advice

21 Mar

I was never good with advice.

Criticism.

The first time I faced it, at the showing of my graduation Film at University, I was petrified.

I could immediately see what was wrong with the piece.

I wanted sooooo badly for people to like it.

It felt like I was up for judgement, that my worth was subject to others.

My father was never comfortable talking with me. I made sure of it.

My defensive skills are legendary. Cross me, you die.

I wish i had listened more.

Listened openly.

Wisdom is such that you’re freed from feelings about yourself and left with just what is, or what is not.

Is the Bible, advice?

Or is it a book of Law?

I’ve had a miserable week, a miserable year.

Yet I’ve fallen in love.

I feel down and un-accomplished, and delight in the future, has been replaced with either apathy or dread.

I don’t need your advice.

Good advice is asked for, not delivered.

I to learn to feel love, to learn self-respect, to be honest with myself when a lie would be sweeter.

Good advice is truth that handles those lies with understanding.

Today I asked Jesus what to do when all hope is gone, howto feel when dealing with past mistakes.

I am hearing that the only mistake I’ve been making is forgetting that I already made the choice to believe his promise, and that this promise for my life is already in motion.

He told me to think about Joy – who owns it, how I loose it, why it is necessary and where to find it.

He said to me, ‘…don’t worry. You worry where I have already won.’

 

Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak … (James 1:19)

♦photo – webstockpro♦

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 21, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

Talk to me!

 
