RSS

Day Thirty – Four: control through advice

26 Mar

 

 

You’ve met them haven’t you?

People who tell you things about yourself, so that you can make appointments and ask them for more.

You know them?

Afterward, you march off, sure that you were hard done by this or that person or by this or that situation, and the next time, the next time it won’t be so easy, no way, just you wait.

Met him?

The advisor who wants to matter in your life?

Have you ever given advice in public? Has it worked?

I have not advised well on occasion.

I am aware now, that much of what I say to others is advice designed to make me look good.

Advice is important, and it relies on trust and if I can’t say anything positive, I shouldn’t say anything at all.

Today I feel very close to Jesus. The campfire is crackling away, the group is relaxed, everyone is silent but it feels like everyone is talking at the same time.

He is smiling, and I’m thinking about all the things he’s told me, out here in the desert, wondering what, of so much, I remember.

Today, before I offer advice, I will listen more.

 

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control…” Galatians 5:22-23

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 26, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

One response to “Day Thirty – Four: control through advice

  1. kreemer

    March 26, 2017 at 14:53

    Wow Kenny.
    Angel Retreat.

    I’m so honored to have Jesus as Company.

    Is Jesus God?
    Well, I am glad to have God as company.

    I am grateful for inspiration.

     

Talk to me!

 
