RSS

Day forty-nine: All day friendliness

10 Apr

 

 

Simon is complaining about my phone.

I don’t know when it happened but it seems I’ve become one of those kids who run mobile conversations at all times, even when others are present.

I hadn’t realised it, but then I made it a point to not be on the phone when I’m with anyone – and I couldn’t stand it after five minutes.

Enhanced reality. I google everything on the go. Questions I have, bits of conversation coming up, I wikipedia facts about cats, and Obama and second hand cars, I theme and re-theme my phone, make sure I’m running the latest custom firmware – my real life and the internet have become inseparable.

Today the meditation was on trying to be friendly all day.

I was indoors so that was easy. Simon thinks I’m a very friendly person. He says people appreciate how easy I am to be around.

I’m smiling at that. Makes me feel good…unless of course, he means that I’m light weight.

Friendliness.

You know, I think some people are too afraid to fail or be rejected, to show friendliness.

I find that I want the people around me to feel welcome, and important and interesting. And they are, for the most part.

Sometimes I will be ‘friendly’ just because the people are there – inside I’m wishing they’d just leave. I ask myself if then, this is a ‘sacrifice’?

Is it better to just excuse myself and leave, or suffer the time and be friendly doing it?

I don’t know.

But I find that even after spending time with people has been hard on me, when I can give those moments up to be with people, I feel good.

On the flip side, I don’t need others to be friendly towards me in order to feel comfortable and I try and make this clear so they’re not falling over themselves to engage me.

Friendliness.

I don’t know. I’ll give you a hand if you need one.

 

“A cheerful look brings joy to the heart…” (Proverbs 15:30)

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 10, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

One response to “Day forty-nine: All day friendliness

  1. kreemer

    April 10, 2017 at 18:55

    So Kenny, what’s up with the drinking? It’s come up again. Somewhere Kenny, just be careful.

    You know your cycles. Remember nothing is worth more than your sobriety.

    Just remember that.
    Keep on remembering that.

    Otherwise, you’re doing well, you really are.
    Onward.

     

Talk to me!

 
