RSS

Day Fifty-two: Patience in the face of frustration

13 Apr

 

 

I get frustrated very easily.

If things don’t go my way, in the manner that I have planned, I am immediately frustrated.

Not a sign of the mature adult eh?

But there it is. I have spent the day in knots un-happy with the state of things, upset and feeling lonely. I have been asked to be patient for a while now, and I am trying.

What do you do with patience?

It’s a truly humbling experience. You’re angry, you’re frustrated, you want something NOW, you want justice NOW.

How is it for those who need some sort of closure for their lives, to have to be patient?

How terrible can it be for those who’ve had someone go missing on them? Or be released from prison having been improperly jailed? Or…or…or…?

Sigh.

This week is a difficult meditation topic for me – I get red around the collar, I can feel the steam now.

I am watching myself through patience. It’s like – if I KNEW everything would be OK, I’d be patient.

So.

I have to know that everything is OK, even when I don’t.

I have to trust.

“Moreover [let us also be full of joy now!] let us exult and triumph in our troubles and rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that pressure and affliction and hardship produce patient and unswerving endurance.” (Romans 5:3)

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 13, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Day Fifty-two: Patience in the face of frustration

  1. kreemer

    April 13, 2017 at 09:25

    Well done, Kenny.
    Off you go.

    Angel retreat.
    Estate management.

    Make a film.

    Off you go.

     
  2. ronnielicious

    April 13, 2017 at 11:21

    This resonates with me.And right now the feeling and the thought are .Patience and endurance are overated. My brain screams why??? Why do I have to go through this…..??
    The answer’s coming through….patience and endurance are not comforting

     

Talk to me!

 
