RSS

Day sixty: Giving joyfully

21 Apr

I was waiting for this one to come up.

The act of giving can seem like a chore sometimes.

I get frustrated by the motions I go through – sorting out those doubts (will my gift be used well), those feeling of lack (I don’t have enough for even myself), those of reward (I’ve done something good, see!).

I go through one or all of them everytime I give.

It happens automatically and I dislike it intensely, because I just want to give, whatever I’m giving, my time, my money, my co-operation, my love – without having it colored by anything else except my intention to share.

I get there in the end most times, but then I’m angry sometimes, when the opportunity arises, that it first presents these challenges in my thought, when I had just been moving along through life.

Giving time is the most difficult for me. I get bored easily, I like to run my own schedule, I’ve never really been accountable to anybody else for my time.

I also am not always very sure of myself.

Where I can remember to, I give as well as I can, and even when I am challenged, mostly I am committed enough to giving that I make it through.

Giving is my way of saying thank you to life and God for being with me when I didn’t deserve it.

Giving is my way of showing life that I can make choices inspite of ‘how things are going’ that are my own.

Giving is my way of really talking to God.

Each one must give as he has decided in his heart, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver. (2 Corinthians 9:7)

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 21, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Day sixty: Giving joyfully

  1. kreemer

    April 21, 2017 at 19:44

    Wow.

     

Talk to me!

 
