RSS

Day seventy-two: simplifying possessions to make room for love

03 May

 

 

I was without a vehicle again today.

And at around 10am, the electricity went off.

I haven’t been in as bad a mood as I was yesterday, but I was on the net on my phone almost the whole day.

I have two books that I keep starting, intending to finish some day.

 

I am dependent on having certain things in my life;

 

Television

Internet

A car

Someone to cook for me

Someone to wash my cloths.

 

Missing any of these sends me into instant turmoil.

 

If I had a lot of money, what would I do?

 

Get some kitchen appliances – hell, do up the house!

Get a new car.

Get a couple of new phones.

Get a new computer.

Pay off all mine and Simon’s debts.

Buy something substantial for each member of the family.

 

That would be enough.

 

Would it?

If I had more money, would I then need something else?

Just this, or that other thing?

 

What keeps me from doing what I want to do now?

 

Pride has alot to do with it. I need my car. I need my phones. Cannot appear in public without those.

Can I move DOWN from what I am accustomed to, and still feel that life is good, that it’s worth living?

 

I want a new life for myself, a re-newed sense of purpose.

I am looking for a reason to live that inspires me again.

 

How shall I measure my life?

 

I have the feeling that, behind my back, mountains are moving.

 

“Is not this the fast that I choose…Is it not to share your bread with the hungry?” ( Isaiah 58:7)

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 3, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

Talk to me!

 
