RSS

Day eighty-six; service, leadership and anger

18 May

 

 

I have been thinking about service.

Am I a servant?

When I am angry, who am I serving?

Most times I am angry, it is because I think I have not been served.

I have not received what I feel I am entitled to…

Respect, gratitude, recognition, an apology.

 

I rarely serve.

When I do something for others it’s not because I am serving them, it’s because I am serving my own need to be helpful, or to forgive, to to somehow, pay for my sins.

 

I have an uncle whom I respect very much, who until recently was the Attorney General of Kenya.

He is an extraordinary person.

Everything about him revolves around service. It drives him.

My own father was the deputy director at UNEP.

He was an extraordinay person.

Everything about HIM was about service.

 

Me?

I ask myself…am I an extraordinary person?

Do I serve my work, the people I lead, my God?

Do I serve anything at all?

 

“Jesus knew that the Father had put all things under his power, and that he had come from God and was returning to God, so he got up from the meal, took off his outer clothing, and wrapped a towel around his waist. After that, he poured water into a basin and began to wash his disciples’ feet, drying them with the towel that was wrapped around him. He came to Simon Peter, who said to him, ‘Lord, are you going to wash my feet?’ Jesus replied, ‘You do not realize now what I am doing, but later you will understand.’” (John 13:3-8)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 18, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

Talk to me!

 
