RSS

Day ninety; anger and quietness

22 May

 

 

Have you ever made your point, and thought you’ve made it well?

And then kept talking, and the more you talked, the less powerful your words were/

I do this all the time.

I’m very articulate, I’m very sensitive and how I participate in conversation provides a great deal of thought or humour or insight depending on the situation.

I know this without being big-headed about it.

But, always, ALWAYS, so taken by the effect I initially have, and mesmerised by the power I feel, I go further.

Every word beyond that is designed to elevate me.

The result is wasted space and an experience of not being listened to.

 

Anger fuels itself.

I’m angry, and I convince myself that I am angry for good reason, and I direct that anger at someone else, and they get defensive, and I get more angry because they can’t see that I’m right to be angry, and then we’re both angry and nothing has changed except that we’re angry.

 

I am going to begin to speak less.

I am going to be quiet and allow myself only to speak when I have something to say.

 

I am going to try and listen to others and to God more.

I just may not succeed.

 

“The ornament of a meek and quiet spirit…is in the sight of God of great price.” (1 Peter 3:3-4)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 22, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

Talk to me!

 
