RSS

Day Ninety-Nine: Being grateful for grass when the house is falling in.

31 May

 

 

I woke up in a foul mood today.

I tried to go back to sleep, convinced that I had slept beyond my three alarm reminders and was too late to get to meditation.

It turns out that I had indeed, slept past the three alarms BUT yesterday, had set my clock twenty minutes ahead – so, there was time to get to meditation…just.

In the face of hardship, can I find ‘good’ to focus on?

If thinking positively means finding ‘good’ in the worst situations, am I able to focus on having hands should I loose my legs?

What I mean is this.

At meditation today, the person reading the ‘Murli’ was a ‘pure’ soul.

I’ve seen her before.

She sits in the back of the class with a smile on her face that looks like it’s painted on.

We have a ‘traffic’ control minute half way through the reading which is meant to remind us why we’re there – you are a soul, I am a soul, God is supreme.

We can be the embodiment of God for others, so our faces – our eyes – can project the power of God.

Smile.

Whether the car is on fire, your butt has an itch or your home is up for auction, smile.

Over the weekend, I heard in a profound way, that yes – thoughts DO change the way you see life and that, the way you see life determines the type of life that shows up me.

So I made a pact that during the hard times – the times when fear rules and thoughts like, ‘…I’m not good enough…what is going to happen now…why is it always me….how am I going to live…’ run my waking moments – that I would find something, (the grass is green, how wonderful) SOMETHING that would generate positive thinking.

It occurs to me this morning, that I must have been drunk on Optimism.

I am reminded that the days that are hard, are hard BECAUSE things happen that affect my present reality in ways that are not so easy to overlook.

When she smiled at me today, her face looked like a hideous African mask.

You know the ones.

Holes for eyes and straw for hair, gaping mouths.

I smiled.

I got home smiling.

 

“You therefore, have no excuse, you who pass judgment on someone else, for at whatever point you judge the other, you are condemning yourself, because you who pass judgment do the same things.” Romans 2:1

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 31, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Day Ninety-Nine: Being grateful for grass when the house is falling in.

  1. kreemer

    May 31, 2017 at 09:45

    So, you bumped into that last night.
    You discovered that you’re a dirty, filthy person whom Good has rescued.

    Kenneth. The things you do are not right or wrong in themselves.

    It how you do them and why that counts.

    Don’t Make sex a psychological issue.
    Nor generosity your single virtue.

    I know it’s difficult, everything had changed on you and a new understanding of who your are and what your doing is coming, so being formed.

    Hang onto God and continue. You’re doing well.
    Say thank you often.

     

Talk to me!

 
